Folder Permissions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RaceJunkie, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. RaceJunkie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #1
    I have a external drive I just connected to my Mac. If I look at the Drive info it reads I have read/write permissions. But when I explore the drive I have at least two folders that have a lock on them with no write permissions.

    How do I go about changing this? I tried I tried to un check the locked box for that folder but when I click it nothing happens.
     
  2. kajitox macrumors 6502a

    kajitox

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #2
    I would LOVE to have answer to this, the locked files are very frustrating and the instructions on Apple's website do NOT work to delete these files.
     
  3. Devoira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Did you try clicking apply to all enclosed items?
     
  4. kajitox macrumors 6502a

    kajitox

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #4
    Uh, what?
     
  5. RaceJunkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Apply what?
     
  6. Devoira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6

    At the bottom of the Get Info menu, Under Ownership and Permissions, there is a button "apply to enclosed items"... try that once you have unlocked and done your read and write permissions.....
     
  7. RaceJunkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Non existent on mine. When i click the check it does not disappear. I just seen that mine is still Fat32 as well so that's probably got allot to do with it.
     
  8. Devoira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    Did you click the arrow for Details to show the submenu?

    And I am afraid I do not understand what Fat32 is or what "it" is that does not disappear...
     
  9. RaceJunkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    This is my drives menu attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. RaceJunkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    Now the Locked folder
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Devoira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    it looks like it is a DOS drive, not a MAC drive and maybe that has something to do with it?

    And maybe if you unclick "locked" on the folder....



    Let me know if it works cause .....Otherwise... stumped....

    D.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    I had the same thing happen to me when transferring files over from Windows. I just dragged the My Pictures folder from My Documents and OS X was unable to do anything beyond copying the contents.

    I deleted the folders on a Windows machine.
     
  13. RaceJunkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #13
    I'm to the point where I am just going to move them to the mac and then reformat and move back. It's what I had to do with my other drives, just this has more info to move.


    I can not un check the box.
     
  14. Devoira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    I can not un check the box.[/QUOTE]

    That could be a main contributing factor then... but I do not know how to deal with that...
     
  15. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    Are you all using Leopard?

    If so, then this is one of the major flaws. POSIX + ACLs = messed up permissions.
     
  16. RaceJunkie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #16
    I fixed it, just moved the files to my local hd then formated external HD and moved em back.. Problem solved.. Took all of 20 mins
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    Annoying but it worked. :eek:
     
  18. kajitox macrumors 6502a

    kajitox

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #18
    This is what I ended up doing with 2 drives. Tedious, yes, but it does get the job done without having to hunt for a PC. (hiss)
     

Share This Page