Football Manager 2012 uses 130% of CPU!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by sioannou, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. sioannou macrumors member

    sioannou

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Nicosia Cyprus
    #1
    Hi folks,

    I have an early 2011 base MBP with 4gb ram(lion). Everything runs smooth and fast, however I have problems with the only game I play on my mac :(

    I've purchased FM2012 which is mainly a database game, my system meets all the requirements but still I am getting too much sluggishness and the transition between the screens is awfully slow :( .

    I've tried anything came to my mind, I've closed all the running programs and checked through activity monitors and fm2012 eats 130% of the CPU ! I've tried it on both gpus again no success. I've posted a thread in SI forums also and many people with the same configuration of mbp run the game smoothly .

    I remember few months ago there was a problem with the Parallels which was eating 130% when you had a specific folder in the dock, I don't know if is somehow related (a file in wrong place causing a bug ).

    Please help :)
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    Are you concerned over the fact that it's over 100%?

    In OS X, CPU usage is measured per core. Your MBP has 4 (+4 hyperthreaded cores). So in theory it can reach 800%.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    130% CPU usage with a quad core i7 you have is only a usage of a little more than 1/6th of available CPU capacity, as you have four cores with two threads per core, thus you have eight virtual cores, which Activity Monitor shows as 100% per virtual core/thread.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #4
    Isn't a hyperthreaded core a pseudo core? While Activity Monitor can report close to 800% (i've only seen 670%), at 800% it's not really faster than 400%, it's just making use of spare clock.
     
  5. sioannou thread starter macrumors member

    sioannou

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Nicosia Cyprus
    #5
    No guys, I don't care if the game uses more than a 100% CPU I just want to play the game :) . The game is unplayable and too slow ! It shouldn't be , because my mac meets all the requirements which are :

    OS: OS X 10.5.8/10.6.8/10.7.x or higher
    Processor: Intel Processor
    Memory: 1GB
    Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 7300 GT or greater; ATI Radeon X1600 or greater.
    Hard Drive: 2GB

    I don't know if its steam the problem
     
  6. capoeirista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #6
    Run the game with a smaller database? That's what I used to do — admittedly that was on the previous version of FM. It definitely sped it up.
     
  7. Magnuss99, Nov 3, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011

    Magnuss99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #7
    Same problem with FM2012 on my Macbook Pro. It's really annoying and weird because I bought my macbook last christmas and also the game worked fine for a week and suddenly began working very slow.

    I think something's wrong with steam
     
  8. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #8
    Steam is just a launcher, it won't make your game slow.
     
  9. Magnuss99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #9
    Remove FM2011 tactics from FM2012 tactics folder. It works for me! :)
     
  10. Javik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    FM12 worked super on my MBA (see sig) but ever since the new steam update/fm update (i don't know which one) i literally CANNOT open the game. It says "verifying game cache" --> verified --> steam can't connect to servers. The forums are rampant at SI with so many people experiencing a problem.

    I really don't get it, SI is intentionally hampering the people who legitimately bought the game by imposing steam on us. Their should always be the option.

    :apple:
     
  11. sioannou thread starter macrumors member

    sioannou

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Nicosia Cyprus
    #11
    I've found the solution.

    The problem is gfxcard status. From the moment I've quit gfx card status the Football Manager runs as it should be, super fast ! The conclusion is, that gfxcard status somehow conflicts with steam probably?
     

Share This Page