For anyone with an OCZ Agility 3 SSD...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by wobegong, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. wobegong Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #1
    As an FYI OCZ released Firmware v2.50 recently, this has fixed a problem I have been having intermittently with the machine freezing (due most likely to at least two of the bugs fixed from the previous version 2.25, SMART self diganosis hanging, intermittent non responsivness etc).

    http://ocz.com/consumer/download/release-note/3series_v2.5.html

    Would recommend anyone who has or is thinking of getting one of these to upgrade. (Need to install in a Windows box and run the 'Desktop tools' app, was a non destructive process on mine but backup first of course...), fingers crossed no lockups etc at all since I carried this out.

    Just an FYI.
     
  2. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #2
    What SATA-Standard has your OCZ Agility 3? Are you using it over the stock SATA-I port or a PCI-card.
     
  3. wobegong thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #3
    Using it over the stock SATA-1 port, I had to upgrade the firmware after purchase (from memory to 2.25 which was then the latest) for it to work, the stock firmware would not play with the PM.
     
  4. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #4
    and the drive itself is SATA-II or SATA-III?
     
  5. wobegong thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #5
    Googling 'OCZ Agility 3' shows it is SATA-3....
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    It can be set via its firmware to be SATA II through OCZ's bootable ISO.
     

Share This Page