For Logic Pro 9, running large orchestral libraries... recommended specs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Christianatkins, May 30, 2013.

  1. Christianatkins, May 30, 2013
    Last edited: May 30, 2013

    Christianatkins macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Location:
    My computer is in my living room studio
    #1
    I just posted in this forum about a my new computer and got some helpful guidance, so I thought I'd inquire again about specs for some software I'll be ppurchasing.

    I have a 27" imac, 2.9 Ghz, 8 GBram (soon to be 32 GB), and a 3 TB Fusion Drive.

    Question is, are my specs sufficient to run;

    ~Logic Pro 9

    ------with-------

    ~Albion Iceni III. Recommended specs; Mac OS X 10.6, 10.7 or 10.8 (latest update), Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM (4 GB recommended)

    ~Cinmeatic Strings. Recommended specs; Mac OSX 10.6, Quad Core CPU, 4GB RAM, 45GB Hard Drive space for installation.


    Before you say, "Dude, you're well within the specification that are recommended", you should bear in mind that these are minimum specs to run those programs and probably are listed on their website as such in order to appeal to the broadest consumer market possible, include low-end hardware users.

    In a perfect world, I'd prefer informed answers from people who have used one or both of these products an imac, and who may have insight as to what else I need. Keep in mind that the Fusion drive I have has a ssd built in and does not yet allow (if ever) for a separate external HD to be connected.

    These are ridiculously expensive libraries, so before purchasing it'd be cool to know what I'm in for.

    As always, thank you for any and all help!!
     
  2. CoinOP macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #2
    Not the answer you want to hear, but why not contact the developers?
     
  3. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #3
    There are probably only a handful of people who can answer those questions and there's only a slight chance they will be on MacRumors.

    You might find better feedback from a specialised forum like Logic Pro Help.
     
  4. JackTre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #4
    You would have been able to run more instances of each plugin with an i7 but you won't have any problems running logic with those sample libraries. Just get more RAM.
     
  5. Christianatkins, May 31, 2013
    Last edited: May 31, 2013

    Christianatkins thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Location:
    My computer is in my living room studio
    #5

    I havent unboxed it yet, as I have been waiting to move into my new apartment by myself in order to set up my new studio.

    ...that being said, Apple is willing to exchange the imac for an i7 core.... the difference is 600.00 with all the bells and whistles I want (applecare, 3TB Fusiondrive)

    Is this the right investment? I need to know pretty soon, in order to get this thing moving.
     
  6. JackTre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    #6

Share This Page