For those wanting to use rearrange icons via Customize

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by Slip, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #1
    I post this thread as for most of the day Ive been messing with my newly recieved/jailbroken iPod touch and having installed, uninstalled, played and messed with third party apps, one annoying thing I foud was every time I installed a new application, it's icon would mean that all of the previous icons would be reshuffled meaning no sort of order could be achieved and having looked into and failed to use Customize I turned to Google and it brought up this page that helped me to get those icons finally sorted out.
    When I first tried to use Customize all it did was display the Spicy Chicken logo and the return to the home screen. To solve this (as the link says) is to uninstall and reinstall Customize (I used the latest verion, 1.20) and then install a theme (I used 'Apple-Alpha Preset for those interested), go back to the home screen and then launch Customize and this time it *should* work
    Hope that helps anyone who was in my situation earlier :)
     
  2. .myk. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #2
    Sorry but that is wrong.

    Customize has very nice features.
    But many are getting fustrated with customize not working on the Ipod Touch.
    What ever u do. DO NOT download customize on an iPod Touch via Installer.
    You will only be wasting your time.

    Customize has a version for Ipod Touch. It has a Cow logo.
    You need to download this file. And upload it to your ipod via FTP.
    I use CyberDuck.

    But to the original post. When you download a new program, the icon order does NOT change. The new program icon simply gets added randomly into this order. Which is a 5 second fix via Customize.

    If you have any more questions reguarding Customize. Please Contact me.
    I will also send you the customize folder if you need it.

    Thanks
    -Myk
     
  3. Slip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #3
    Well it worked and is working here so can't be too bad
    Thanks for the heads-up (Y)
     
  4. RobT macrumors 6502a

    RobT

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
  5. Football1maniac macrumors regular

    Football1maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #5
    For what ever reason, the version of Customize I have for my iPod touch works beautifully. Hmm, explain this one:rolleyes:

    I've never tried though to download junk off Installer for Customize, like sound sets and all that good stuff.:apple:
     
  6. Slip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #6
    Haha, well it didn't work for me so I was just being nice ;)
    And same as with the sound schemes, Im not really assed
     
  7. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #7
    The Chicken version works fine on the touch. You just need to start it up four or five times in the beginning until it stops crashing, and from then on it'll be perfectly fine. Weird, but true.
     
  8. Slip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #8
    Yeah that's what was happening with the 'standard' Customoize. I couldn't find the Chicken one on Installer, is it manual install only?
     

Share This Page