Mobile OSs For those who still own the S3... (GT-I9300/International only)

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by adder7712, May 21, 2013.

  1. adder7712, May 21, 2013
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
  2. ceva321 macrumors 6502

    ceva321

    #2
    warning!!!! this only works for the international S3 NOT the US versions...beware you don't want to brick your phone!!!!!!! :mad:
     
  3. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #3
    That is for their early release version. The official version will be though.
     
  4. ceva321 macrumors 6502

    ceva321

    #4
    yes but the thread title is missmleading! it should say international gs3
     
  5. tengtengvn macrumors member

    tengtengvn

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    #5
    I just flashed my tmo US S3 to 4.1.2 with premium suite last week.
    I will flash this new 4.2.2 for the international S3 and let you guys know.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    No I won't. :D
     
  6. rhinosrcool macrumors 65816

    rhinosrcool

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    Thanks for the warning
     
  7. Djlild7hina macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #7
    Saw that but I'll just wait for the official update. I'm too lazy to restore everything :p
     
  8. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
  9. kevinof macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin/London
    #9
    There's no restore required. I flashed it last night on my S3 and it works just fine. No wipe needed.

     
  10. Assault macrumors 6502a

    Assault

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Location:
    in the taint
    #10
    Meh. Touchwiz can suck it. Been running 4.2.2 for months with better optimized software on custom AOKP ROM.
     
  11. adder7712 thread starter macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    For some reason, a leaked pre-release ROM has carrier branding (Hot, an Israeli carrier). I'm sure this is final.
     
  12. Spectrum Abuser macrumors 65816

    Spectrum Abuser

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #12
    Eh. I've been running 4.2.2 with Cyanogenmod 10.1 on my AT&T GS3 for quite some time. I'd assume that anyone else who wanted the latest and greatest would of made a similar move regardless of the ROM.
     
  13. kevinof macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin/London
    #13
    It does - basically just on the splash screen at startup but that's really all. A wipe would not change that as its present in the rom.

    I suspect this rom is close to release as its very stable. Maybe a couple weeks more.

     
  14. beaniemyman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    #14
    phuff...you saved my smartphone's life.
     
  15. adder7712 thread starter macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    I added the "GT-I9300 only" line into the title.
     
  16. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #16
    You should always read at least the OP of a thread before you do anything root/custom ROM related.
     

Share This Page