Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KensaiMage

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 25, 2017
Hello, please help me choose.

I am working as a teaccher and I am still studying at university. I need a mobile device for all the stuff including document/paper work. I am planning to buy ddr4 macbook/imac as soon as it comes out for more demanding work including programming and so on.

So:

iPad Pro 2 LTE + magic pencil + keyboard

Vs

Macbook 12 256ssd i7 processor 16gb ddr3

Both are very mobile. The iPad has better screen while the macbook is a full computer. However, I do not need to use usb and I can wait with more demanding stuff for next - ddr4 mac - so I will update/buy new when it comes out. What to do now? I heard that the macbook is nice but the ipad with pencil beats it for university. Plus -> iPad is cheapper. Thanks

Last edited:

planetf1

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2014
Hampshire, UK
I think it depends on what you're doing with apps. iPad probably great for consumption and drawing with pencil... Mac for full document writing etc.

Also if you are open to non apple solutions look at the Microsoft surface. I know it's a different ecosystem but it bridges with tablet/laptop gap the best imo..... As above though depends so much on what we u use

KensaiMage

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 25, 2017
I think it depends on what you're doing with apps. iPad probably great for consumption and drawing with pencil... Mac for full document writing etc.

Also if you are open to non apple solutions look at the Microsoft surface. I know it's a different ecosystem but it bridges with tablet/laptop gap the best imo..... As above though depends so much on what we u use

Basically I need the device for everything related to getting a doctor degree + for teaching. So a lot of research work and paper writing, presentations and taking notes.

invisibleshoes

macrumors 6502
Sep 20, 2014