For you 3G S owners, what is the modem firmware?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Vandam500, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #1
    Go into Settings > General > About and scroll down a little bit. What is the modem firmware? THANKS!
     
  2. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    04.26.08

    Same as a 3G on 3.0.

    Come on Ultrasn0w!
     
  3. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    Sooo awesome! Having second thoughts now on the 3G S :D:p
     
  4. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #4
    Remember the very important factor in that though. In order to unlock, you need to jailbreak. Jailbreaking the 3G is due to a hardware exploit. The hardware in the 3G S is different. If you can't jailbreak, you can't unlock. I'm willing to bet that the 3G S won't be jailbroken relatively soon. Look how long it took to figure out how to jailbreak the 2G iPod Touch due to the hardware change? I can see the 3G S being similar. Of course, once they figure that out, the unlock should be trivial.
     
  5. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Always wondered, can you update to a new firmware, with the new baseband removed, without jailbreaking?

    If so thats what i'll be doing with 3GS, keeping it on this baseband for as long as possible.
     
  6. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Won't be any use till they find a jailbreak for the 3G S though, once they do, then it is highly likely the new found unlock will work if it hasn't been updated.
     

Share This Page