Force install iOS 5 or 6 on iPhone 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by daniel2004, May 17, 2013.

  1. daniel2004 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I am new and I just wanted some help. Is it possible to make itunes think your 3g is a 3gs to update and skip"the firmware is not compatible"(I do not care if it affects the iphone in any way)or to force install ios5 or 6 in itunes itself?
     
  2. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. daniel2004 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    #3
    Anyway, if it is not possible the ways I said, is there another way to do it? (not with whited00r)
     
  4. lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Not possible in any way.
     
  5. coolio93 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #5
    not possible AT ALL. Trust me...I spent days trying to do it for my bro. Didn't work. The only thing you can do is sell your phone on CG or ebay and buy a newer model.
     
  6. Tubamajuba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #6
    If you really want to know what it would take...

    Carefully remove the processor of the 3G, and solder on the 3GS processor or newer. If you can get the A6 SoC from the iPhone 5, do that.

    Then, just write drivers for the rest of the hardware in the 3G that iOS 5/6 doesn't support, and insert them into iOS. Every time you update the phone, you must redo this step.

    Even then, your chance of success is exactly 0%.
     
  7. pod5g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #8
  8. MassiveAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Can't believe that in 2013 someone is still using an iPhone 3G. Time to upgrade don't you think?
     
  9. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Just sell it and get a 3GS. They're really cheap these days.
     
  10. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #11
    Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB (Black)
    http://amzn.com/B004ZLV5AY


    Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. kornberg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    #12
    rofl:D
     
  12. pod5g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #13
    Both of you are being complete tools. Some people may not be able to afford or justify an update. Some may not want one. Just because you have a recent iPhone, it doesn't mean everyone else must.
     
  13. LithePanther macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #14
    Please. You can get an iPhone 4 with a penny and it'll be 10x the phone the 3G is.

    If you want new stuff you need to have new stuff. Simple.
     
  14. pod5g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #15
    I never denied that. I just didn't like the way MassiveAttack and kornberg were making fun of the OP.
     
  15. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #16
    I don't think those two were making light of the OP, but rather making fun of the iPhone 3G.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Nope, time to get rid of that dinosaur and get something newer.
    Its so slow on 4.2.1 anyway, it becomes unbearable to use it.
     
  17. iphone2g&3gfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #18
    Guys:
    I got messed up with my old username (daniel2004) or something like it, but I am back. I would agree that it is slow on 4.2.1, but I have almost no apps and it runs perfectly. So please do not make fun of it.

    ----------

    Guys,
    I cannot sell my iphone for much in trade ins in amazon. Could I sell it elsewhere and get more money to get a 3gs 8gb?
     
  18. Seadoodude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    #19
    You might be able to jailbreak it and install an older version. Worth a try. Google it and see.

    I did this once on my iphone4 out of curiosity, it still worked as normal with iTunes and apps but also opens up a world of other apps. I liked the ability to kill all BG apps in one swipe and G3 tethering. I had it that way until the next iOS version where it went back to the official iOS.
     
  19. kevink2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #20
    Many threads about people wanting to put older (better) OS's on devices that were EOL'ed before the OS came out. Currently, a thread asking whether iOS 6 will be available for the unreleased iPad 5, for example. Or people who upgrade to iOS 4 on older hardware, and wanting to go back to 3.1.3.

    At some point, the hardware isn't capable of running the newer OS. Sometimes, it could but due to developer resources and limited numbers of older devices still in use, isn't feasible. How much would have to be stripped out of iOS 7 to make it fit a on a original iPhone or the 3G? Then apps that want to target the mass market would have to test even more variants, or popular apps wouldn't work on them anyway.

    Sometimes, from outside Apple, it appears limitations that are present are arbitrary. Like no MMS on the original iPhone, though people who jailbroke were able to do so. Or people who got video recording on the 3G, when Apple wouldn't officially support it. Maybe there was some internal resource limit that we couldn't see.
     
  20. lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #21
    If you are on AT&T, you can upgrade to an iPhone 4 for free as long as you have an upgrade (which you will unless you have your upgrade to a family member). Outside of the US I'm not as educated in their policies, but I'm sure it's similar.
     
  21. iphone2g&3gfan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #22
    Guys,
    I am running a jailbroken iphone 3g, not on an official at&t chip. I am also in Peru.
     
  22. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #23
    Actually, I still have my iPhone 3G as my unlocked phone for the 1-2 times I go outside the country for a few days. It works ok for my unlocked needs. 360 days out of the year, I'm in the US and my iPhone 5 ATT phone works just fine.
     
  23. Beyinsis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #24
    Ios 4.2.1 doesnt't support multitasking with ip3g. Multitasking possible with jail break. I had tried with my old one. After one week I see why apple doesn't let mtask with 3g. My phone become more slow every next day do I wasn't answering even incoming calls.
    Ip 3g has just 128 mb ram. If there would be any way to cheat your phone be sure it wouldn't run.
     

Share This Page