force lower (native) resolution

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by insanemccain, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. insanemccain macrumors member

    insanemccain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #1
    is it possible to force a smaller resolution but not have it stretch?

    In there words it would be a "boxed" image with a black border displaying the real selected resolution.

    lets skip all the why questions, and please just post if you can help. I have my reasons for testing. thanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    I used two of my Macs with a lower resolution for a week, and had no stretching or black borders, just bigger pixels.
    I lowered the resolution from 1680 x 1050 to 1280 x 800 on my 20" iMac and on my 17" MBP from 1920 x 1200 to 1440 x 900.
    Nothing was stretched and no black borders were visible, the lower resolutions spanned the entire screen.
    I did use 10.6 though, I guess you have 10.7 Lion?

    If you have an 11" MBA, choose a resolution, that is using a 16:9 ratio, with the 13" MBA you should choose a 16:10 aspect ratio resolution.
     
  3. insanemccain thread starter macrumors member

    insanemccain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #3
    Ya, I am using Lion.

    However, I AM looking for the "native" lower resolution that would fit inside the native 13" MBA Color LCD.

    Is that possible?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    What do you mean with "native"?
    The native resolution of the 13" MBA (2010 and 2011 model) is 1440 x 900, any resolution lower than that is not native.
     
  5. BaldiMac macrumors 604

    BaldiMac

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #5
    He is asking if there is a way to display your desktop at a lower resolution with a black border all around it. For example, on a 13" MBA, display the desktop at 1240x700 with 100 blank pixels on each side.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Ahhhhhh, I misunderstood completely, I guess.

    Anyway, I haven't seen that yet, thus I do not know the answer to that.

    But why would you do that?
     
  7. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
  8. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #8
    I know you said to skip the why, but maybe understanding the reason might help us find an alternate solution.

    Lowering the resolution but leaving it at the native DPI (by displaying black borders) won't help if the problem is that things on screen are too small.
     

Share This Page