Force Public IP Address Change?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Mork, May 5, 2017.

  1. Mork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #1
    System Preferences->Pick Account with DHCP->Click Advanced->Renew DHCP Lease.

    Doesn't work.

    Tried turning off modem, router for a while.
    Rebooting computer
    Clearing cache
    etc.

    Nothing I've tried changes my public IP, which appears to be blocked for some services.

    Is there another way to force the public IP change in 10.12.4?

    Thanks in advance.

    - m
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    It's up to your ISP to assign you a new public IP. Unless you have static IP, there is a chance you'll get assigned a different one by restating your modem, but that's the best you can do.

    Have you tried contacting whoever manages the services your IP appears to be blocked from?
     
  3. fischersd macrumors 601

    fischersd

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    #3
    Surprised you're not using a hardware firewall (at least a WAP), but to each their own.

    Usually, if you change your mac address of your ethernet card (which your modem is connected to), the ISP will assign you a new IP.

    A quick primer on how to change it is here:
    https://www.howtogeek.com/220462/how-to-find-and-change-your-mac-address-on-os-x/

    (the random mac generation they mention there also works)
     
  4. niji macrumors 6502a

    niji

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    tokyo
    #4
    this.

    the point is when the ISP assigns you a seat. it is keeping you assigned to that seat.
    but as most of us encounter, we frequently come across WiFi setups that keep you assigned to that way way too long.
    and you can't get it to renew. if you close your notebook. whatever. it will still keep you assigned to the original location. and you can't get it or force it to assign you a new location. you are locked into using a given ID and password of course.
    happens to me most frequently when traveling in Asia, many times at hotel wifi.
    even if i tell them that their lease time is far too long they don't get it.
    wifi admin and the IT service contractors have set up in a way that doesn't meet the reality for how users actually need to use it in their location.
    rebooting doesn't get you a new location.
    connecting to a different network temporarily usually doesn't work.

    what does usually work is if they can give you a different ID and password and connect with that, and then shifting back to your former ID/password usually does force a change.

    what also is annoying is that apple's software and many WIFi initial login screens don't play well together. and trying to force a log in screen to pop up again (after an initial sign in and connection) is sometimes problematical even if you disconnect. getting that login prompt back again just sometimes will not worK even if you temporarily disconnect from the network.
     

Share This Page