Force Quit never works

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fjs08, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. fjs08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #1
    Hi,

    Force Quit never works anymore for anything?? Any thoughts?? Finder just went down, the little beach ball was spinning, and I tried to relaunch Finder. Nothing happened. Mail does the same thing, as does Safari and Firefox.

    Frank
     
  2. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #2
    try option right clicking on their dock icon and clicking force quit?
     
  3. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #3
    For really stubborn to quit apps you can use the Activity monitor for force quit, (Applications>Utilities>Activity Monitor) it will definitely work.

    But then you need to find out what is causing the mayhem. How much free HD space do you have, and what about ram?
     
  4. skierdude macrumors member

    skierdude

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #4
    mabe that would work. Never mind it doesn't work i just tried it. Try option :apple: esc.
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Are all these apps freezing often? Your problem may lie deeper than simply not being able to Force Quit. Keep Activity Monitor open and showing you All Processes. Which (if any) processes are red? :)
     
  6. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #6
    >>Are all these apps freezing often? Your problem may lie deeper than simply not being able to Force Quit. Keep Activity Monitor open and showing you All Processes. Which (if any) processes are red?<,

    I've had my Mac Book Pro since last fall. It "crashes" loads more than I ever remember my Powerbook crashing.

    I usually end up just powering down and doing a cold reboot. Today, and occasionally, the Mac is really hot underneath. It does that occasionally, but it still crashes even though it may not be hot.

    Frank
     
  7. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #7
    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro 15"
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro2,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.33 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP22.00A5.B01
    SMC Version: 1.12f5
    Serial Number: W86460SKW0H
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

    I have 65 gig available on my HD out of 111.47.
    46.27 GB is occupied.

    No windows on it either.

    Frank

    Frank
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Okay, well what third party hardware and software do you have? Maybe post us the contents of your crash log(s) in Console in the Utilities folder, too. :)
     

Share This Page