Force Touch PITA or Usefull?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 5268282, Mar 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. 5268282, Mar 31, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2017

    5268282 Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    #1
    I've grown tired of how precise the force must be, even for simple tasks like moving/deleting Home Screen icons. I have the 7+ since launch and have tried/tested Force Touch for many different tasks over many months, but IMO the cons don't outweigh the pros. It just seems to get in the way 99% of the time. Does any else think Force Touch is a PITA? Or found it useful as a whole?
     
  2. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    I seldom use the force touch feature. The time I do, was by error!
     
  3. 5268282 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    #3
    That's the thing, it's always in error. Like typing in a web address the quick push for the "." would pull up the TLD extensions. Now it sucks.
     
  4. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #4
    You do know you can disable 3D Touch under settings?

    3D Touch can be slightly annoying when you have to hold it down and move an icon.

    Other than that, I have really grown to appreciate how quick 3D Touch of a shortcut it is to use open applications for certain parts that you want to view. I just think it's more of a convenience factor and a quicker way to access features versus having to open the whole application at once.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    My problem is that I do not use it enough that I forget I have it turned on. Then I do something and it comes up and it's not what I want.

    When I do remember it's on and to use it though it's useful.
     
  6. 5268282 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    #6
    I do now and I have just done that. What version of iOS was that feature included in? Thanks!!!
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    I similarly use it in various places where I find it useful, like shortcuts to different things when using 3D Touch on various app icons, or the keyboard turning into trackpad, and the like. I don't use it as much for some other things that it offers.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 31, 2017 ---
    It was there since the time 3D Touch was introduced.
     
  8. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #8
    3D Touch was implemented when iPhone 6s/6S plus launched.
     
  9. foxconn Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Location:
    www
    #10
    you're not supposed to press into the screen to invoke an action. you're supposed to tap. if you want to use 3D touch, then you press harder.

    i'm assuming you were pressing to hard and that's why it didn't work.

    user error. works fine for me.
     
  10. 5268282 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    #11
    That makes sense. I didn't buy the iPhone 6S and I only screwed around with force touch on the 7+ for a month or so before giving up and just dealing with it. I figured it was one of those Steve Jobs' things where the consumer would just deal with it or love it. Relentless Power you've made me love my 7+ all over again... thanks!
     
  11. rugmankc Contributor

    rugmankc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #12
    3d touch fine for me with pushing down

    but if i want to move an icon i press lightly and start to slide it while pressing down. if i just press down it is hard to get the right pressure to get the icon to jiggle.
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    It's usually a good thing to go through available settings on a new device and/or new (at least major) OS version to see what's available there, as well as to confirm that things are set up to one's liking too (especially if there's something that isn't to one's liking or isn't working as expected/desired).
     
  13. 5268282 thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    #14
    The features of 3D touch worked as they should, but it was more cumbersome than beneficial IMO.
     
  14. alex.houston macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indiana
    #15
    I myself did find 3D touch too easy to trigger, until I changed the setting for "3D Touch sensitivity" (under Settings > General > Accessibility > 3D Touch) from Medium to Firm. Now I don't trigger 3D touch unintentionally anymore. I do use the feature to jump quickly to a certain place inside the app. E.g. 3D touch on The Weather Channel app allows me to jump immediately to Radar view, instead of scrolling to it after opening the app, so 3D touch does save me time. The 3D feature could be even more useful if apps had setting to chose which options to show on 3D press.
     
  15. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #16
    From iOS 9, 3D Touch became a thing. iOS 8 and below does not have this feature.
     
  16. prhat317 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    #17
    I actually just swapped an iPhone SE for a 7 because I didn't even realize how reliant I had become on 3D touch on my 6s.
     
  17. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #18
    I use 3D Touch a lot. A few times I have had it pop up when I didn't want it to. That was user error though.
     
  18. itsmilo macrumors 65816

    itsmilo

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Location:
    Europe
    #19
    The issue is having lived all these years without it so it has yet to become part of my workflow. I always forget it is there ... also the inconsistency between iDevices does not do it any favor. Speaking of iPad
     
  19. decafjava macrumors 68000

    decafjava

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Geneva
    #20
    I find it very useful and am sure in a year or so it will be a normal part of ios use.
     
  20. joesixgig macrumors regular

    joesixgig

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    #21
    Thanks! Didn't know this setting existed. I changed it to Light. :D

    I sometimes use 3D touch on the left edge to get to the task switcher, but it doesn't feel all that natural to me yet. Kind of hit or miss, and it doesn't seem to work in landscape mode. Other than that I do like the idea of not having to use the hardware button (6S+). Let's see how it goes with light touch enabled.
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Same here.
    I never had a need to use it anyway.
     
  22. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
  23. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #24
    The sole use of force touch for me is when typing to position the cursor.

    Other than that, nothing else.
     
  24. LCPepper macrumors 6502

    LCPepper

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #25
    I find it really useful, and I do miss it on my iPad Pro... Would be nice to upgrade to a MacBook that also had the force sensitive trackpad!

    As some other posters have mentioned, it's important to know how it works, and the imagination Apple has behind different UI interactions; then it makes more sense, and you never activate it by accident.
     

Share This Page