iPhone Forced iOS updates by Apple

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by dmj102, May 16, 2014.

1. dmj102 macrumors 6502

Is there a way to stop this if I want to stay with an iOS update that I am happy with. I had auto update off and I noticed that my iPad 4 and iPhone 4 already had downloaded the last update iOS 7.1.1 without my permission.

Obviously, this will happen when iOS 8 comes out. It's not an issue with my iPad 4 since it's 32gig, but my iPhone 4 is 8gig (yes, I know...no need to laugh...I was an Apple newbie early last year) and that's more of an issue.

Here is a link that discusses this. This upsets me that Apple can get away with this. I want a choice with which iOS I want to stay with for whatever reason.

http://www.cnet.com/news/ios-6-holdouts-complain-about-large-unwanted-ios-7-download/

2. Menel macrumors 603

Menel

You want to stay on a security vulnerability riddled deprecated version?

Apple devices aren't for you. Go get Android.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Old news, apple downloads the update and you want to update it then do so. If not then you can ignore it. Many people on iOS6 are not liking it because its a full OS update not just a patch.

As the other poster mentioned, if you don't like apple's approach then the only other option is to go to a different platform

4. dmj102 thread starter macrumors 6502

Too late now, I'm heavily invested with Apple products. I moved from Windows and Android last year to the entire Apple ecosystem. Cost me lots of $$$.

I don't keep sensitive data on my iPhone.

5. nj1266 macrumors 6502a

The update is NOT forced on your phone. It is simply downloaded but not installed. You can simply ignore it and keep using the old version. My iPhone 5 is still on 7.0.4 since it is jail broken.

6. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member