Forecast on iOS9

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Asator, Nov 24, 2015.

  1. Asator macrumors 6502a

    Asator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    This workaround to get Forecast working on iOS9 was posted a while ago but I just found it today so I thought I'd post it here for anyone else wanting to get Forecast back working again.

    Credit to mramirez23

    It's so good to have this back! Let me know if you have any issues doing this and I'll do my best to help.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Maybe you can explain something to me?

    My understanding is that to get this to work you have to disable Location Services for the Weather app. Is that right? And you have to leave it disabled?

    And if that is correct then how does this work? Doesn't having Location Services off for the Weather app defeat the purpose - as you'd only be getting weather from whatever city you selected in the weather app? Or is Forecast not drawing weather info from the Weather app?

    This was not satisfactorily explained in the reddit page.

    I'm not interested in working around this if the only weather I am going to get is from one location.

    But if it does work and draws it's own location/weather data then I might give it a shot again.

    Thanks for posting it.
     
  3. Asator thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Asator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Yep, you're right. It can only get the weather from the one location set in the weather app. Setting the location services on for the weather app throws it into safe mode.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    That is what I thought. Thanks.

    It's nice that a workaround was developed, but it kind of defeats the purpose if you know what I mean. :D
     
  5. Asator thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Asator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Yeah absolutely.
     
  6. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #6
    Frankly, I see no purpose in doing this, since we have the Weatherboard2 now. Same as Forecast, actually even better in my opinion :)[​IMG]
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    I can see a purpose for this. It's just not one worth doing for myself.

    If you've invested in Forecast and you don't travel much then getting this working is a viable option I think.

    I know that's a narrow justification, but someone out there might be in that category.

    I also understand the "workaround" aspect. I'm glad OP brought up the topic.

    Finally, I do love Weatherboard 2's implementation, but I feel it's not as polished on the lockscreen.

    If you compare your screen shot to the one from the OP, in the bottom left you'll see that Forecast has a better arrangement. Not only does Forecast include an icon with the weather description, Forecast bothers to mention which smaller number is the high temp and which smaller number is the lower temp.

    Weatherboard 2 just assumes you'll figure that out. It was something I was slightly disappointed at not seeing when I first installed it.

    That said, I was never able to get Forecast to use the weather images over my wallpaper which is why I moved on to Weatherboard at some point.

    Someone told me the functionality in Forecast was always there but I could either never find it or get it to work.

    For me however, the fact that LS must remain off is the deal breaker here. Kind of a one trick pony now.
     
  8. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #8
    Fair enough, I do understand your point, so at the end of the day, it's always a matter of choice :)
     
  9. captain1charlie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    #9
    I Find iOS 9.1 Glitchy. Before upgrading I was on iOS 9.0.2 it was much Smoother than this iOS 9.1 Anyone else having issues on iOS 9.1? Hopefully 9.2 will fix all this
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    Are you or were you jailbroken?

    You are asking a completely unrelated question in a thread in the jailbreak forum about a jailbreak tweak where most people are using 9.0.2 or below - because 9.1 is not jailbreakable.
     
  11. captain1charlie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    #11
    I was Jailbroken on iOS 9.0.2 but it was smooth before and after jb. I believe there will b a jb for iOS 9.2
     

Share This Page