iPhone Forecast Tweak Won't Update

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MidnightSVT, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. MidnightSVT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I am having issues getting the Forecast tweak to update. Currently the tweak does not update on its own or manually. I have manually fixed the bug that was crashing the stock weather app (and updated the Evasi0n jailbreak through Cydia today), I was hoping that was the cause, however, my issue is still not resolved.

    The tweak will update after the stock weather app has been enabled, but it does not update on its own or manually from the lock screen. I have reinstalled and removed and installed the app with no change. I. am running iOS 6.1 on a Verizon iPhone 5

    Is anyone else experiencing this? Is there a way to fix the issue?
     
  2. hch3psa macrumors member

    hch3psa

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    I'm having the exact same issue. It was working fine before the Evasi0n updates in Cydia. My guess is it's causing some conflict.
     
  3. Soundflunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #3
    Same here. Worked fine until I updated evasi0n.
     
  4. MidnightSVT thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for the updates. I have email the developers, so hopefully an update will be released soon.
     
  5. Soundflunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    #5
    Been working again for me since the latest UIKit update. 1.1.7, I think it was.
     
  6. MidnightSVT thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #6
    Hhhmmm....

    I have updated all of the Cydia changes that I have been notified about. I have also tried reinstalling the tweak again, but no luck.
     
  7. ChrisN718 macrumors regular

    ChrisN718

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Location:
    Flushing, NY
    #7
    Still not working for me either after updating to uikits 1.1.7.
     
  8. Soundflunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
  9. dilute37 macrumors member

    dilute37

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    #9
    Having same issue. The only way to update is to either check the stock weather app or pull down the notification center.
     
  10. MidnightSVT thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #10
    Yes, that is what I have found as well. No word from the developers, I am sure they are slammed right now, so no surprise. Hopefully a fix will come soon.
     
  11. MidnightSVT thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #11
    Just updated the tweak and all seems to be good now!!
     
  12. Asator macrumors 6502a

    Asator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    Is there a way to remove the "updated" time under the weather?
     
  13. headcase macrumors 6502

    headcase

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #13
    Two bugs on this that I communicated to the developer, and waiting to be fixed before reinstalling this tweak:

    1) causes repeated requests of "springboard would like to use your current location"

    2) although I have my Weather app set to use a fixed location as my first location, Forecast still does a GPS lookup upon every 15 minute refresh of the weather (which I don't like, in terms of conserving battery life).
     
  14. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #14
    Thanks for this.
     
  15. slumpey326 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
  16. PittsDriver macrumors 6502a

    PittsDriver

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #16
    I don't even see the option to have a fixed location or use GPS. Mine just uses GPS regardless. I am also having the issue of not updating. The only time it updates is when I open the weather app.
     
  17. Grayburn macrumors 68000

    Grayburn

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #17
    Have you checked what your refresh settings say for Forecast?

    Settings>Notifications>Weather Widget
     
  18. BoboTheBear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #18
    Has anyone figured out how to automatically allow Springboard access to Location Settings? A pop up comes up every time it refreshes.

    In Settings->Location Services there is no on/off for Forecast or Springboard of course.
     
  19. slumpey326 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    I think its a forecast problem, hopefully the developer will fix it soon.
     
  20. PittsDriver macrumors 6502a

    PittsDriver

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #20
    Ya it is set to 30min but it never updates.
     
  21. mb200k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #21
    Im having the same problem and the iphone only refreshes when pulling the notification center and constantly aks to use my location, but on another iphone with lockinfo 5 and the same widget everything works perfectly and updates correctly never asking my location. Why does this problem only happens with the forecast standalone tweak considering that lockinfo 5 is the same?
     
  22. BoboTheBear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #22
    I found a workaround for this.

    I have Forecast and NCSettings installed. Two problem I had was that if I hit the manual refresh on the Forecast widget on the lockscreen, it would hang (not update). When I unlocked, a pop up would ask if I would allow Springboard access to Location Services.

    I disabled the Weather Widget in the Notification Center. This fixed it.

    Forecast still works. Can manually update weather no problem, doesn't hang and I don't get the popup anymore.

    Only downside is that I don't have the weather widget in my Notification Center anymore but I don't care, that's why I have Forecast.
     
  23. JPNFRK7 macrumors 6502

    JPNFRK7

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #23
    This fixed it. I turned off the widget and Forecast works flawlessly. Turned it back on just to check and Forecast stopped working. Figure Ill leave it off even if they fix it. I never look at it in NC anyways. Thank You.
     
  24. white-fang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    #24
    Mine doesn't work this way.. :( :( :( .. You said that you just turned it off from notification center and forecast works ?! I did the same thing.. It isn't on the lockscreen.. Any help ?!
     
  25. JPNFRK7 macrumors 6502

    JPNFRK7

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #25
    I disabled the weather widget in NC. I don't know why this helps but it does allow Forecast on the LS to update. I went into Settings/Notifications/Weather Widget, I turned it off so that the Weather widget wouldnt show up in NC. This shouldn't affect what Forecast does.
     

Share This Page