Forex, stocks and shares

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by acearchie, Apr 20, 2012.

1. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

Hi guys,

I am new to all of this and at the moment I am taking part in an inter-university FREE scheme that has real prizes based on performance from virtual trading.

At the moment it is only UK based so only trading in UK equities but I was wondering in simple terms what's the best way to find out if something is projected to rise or fall in relation to their stock prices. Is there like a timetable of announcements that I could then "bet" on whether it's good news or bad news.

I realise that I am not going to turn into a city trader overnight but I was wondering if there are any good starter guides or resources that would help me figure out what to invest in.

Cheers!

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Guess. It depends on what time frame you're talking about.

3. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

acearchie

Well from what I have seen at the moment the competitions seem to run for 14 days max so they are expecting you to turn a profit in that time.

I am very unexperienced in this field so any help would be great!

4. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

14 days is a meaningless time frame. Pick a stock at random. Odds are you'll do just as well as someone who "knows what they're doing."

5. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

acearchie

Well at the moment that is my main tactic however, I am trying to put some sort of reason into my purchases. For example I "bought" tesco because I heard about the £1bn investment into their domestic facilities however, it appears that they also should reduced profit for the first time in a number of years and that has really screwed me up at the moment.

Below is my list of current trades and I essentially have until next friday for them to "sort themselves out".

Attached Files:

6. acidfast7 macrumors 65816

acidfast7

Attached Files:

• 1.png
      1.png