Forgive me, for I have sinned. (built Hackintosh)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by GFLPraxis, May 4, 2008.

1. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

GFLPraxis

Yes, I am aware that I have committed the ultimate PC heresy. Please forgive me. But I went and built a Hackintosh.

Background you can skip if you don't care:
    I do Windows desktop support for a living and generally know what I'm doing with computers. I actually have *fun* tweaking stuff (my Nintendo DS runs Linux), so I figured I'd have a good time building this PC. I'm a student working a part-time IT internship, so I don't have a ton of money. I bought a MacBook a couple of years back (Core Duo), and I switched my whole family over to Macs and we've purchased numerous Apple laptops over the years. I haven't purchased a new desktop in over five years- still running my old Pentium 4 machine. I hardly have the money to get a low-end iMac, and that thing won't have nearly the level of performance I would want out of it.

The PC cost me about $900. In total I spent about $950 after some extras.

Specs:
    2.4 GHz Core 2 Quad Q6600
    4 GB DDR2 800 MHz RAM
    Geforce 8800GT, 256 MB GDDR3 VRAM
    1x 500 GB HDD
    1x 160 GB HDD
    DVD-RW
    500W power supply
    Antec Sonata III case

That ran me $900. On top of that, I purchased a HD-DVD drive on clearance for $20 and a webcam for $30. Add in the cost of a Leopard DVD as well (I got mine a while ago).

I installed Vista on the 160 GB drive, and OS X on the 500 GB drive. Plus, I have a 250 GB external firewire drive. Even then, I'm worried about running out of space, but I think I still have one more internal SATA port available.