Forgot admin password

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MythicFrost, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Ok, here's my problem... my parents have a "administrator" account on my mac, that I never know the password to, they use parental controls to monitor my account.

    They've forgotten the admin password, and I have OSX Updates, iTunes updates and I need the pw, going to get dad to try and figure it out again, but we've had no success so far.

    Is there anyway to retrieve it?

    I thought of re-formatting, but I several virtual machines setup, and a Boot Camp partition (I assume that won't be effected), which would be a pain to have to setup again.

    My biggest problem with that is, I have the GTX 285 1GB in, I'd need to replace it with my 8800 GT to run the installer for Leopard (GTX requires 10.5.7), which I really don't want to do!

    Any advice?

    Kind Regards
     
  2. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #2
    The OS instal disc that came with the mac lets you recover it. Though I don't remember how...shouldn't be too hard.

    -Omi
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
  4. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Thank you, if I start up from a disc that's 10.5.4, and my GTX 285 1GB requires 10.5.7, what will happen?
    Explosions? damage? no picture, degraded picture?

    Kind Regards
     
  5. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #5
    Nah, everything should be fine.

    Just don't hold me against that.

    -Omi
     
  6. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Haha OK, can anyone back that up? I might call apple :O

    Kind Regards
     
  7. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    You're only using the disc to get to a utility. You won't be loading anything, just using a password resetter, so no problems.
     
  8. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Ok, I've found a Mac Pro install disk 1 (10.5.2), after restarting I hold the option key, I select the install disc, it shows the activity indicator (circle thing), after about a 5 minute wait, I see the screen slowly change color from gray to a dark gray (very slowly, takes about 5 seconds from top to bottom) then displays this message in 4 different languages (in an even darker rectangle): "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or press the Restart button." and shows an image behind it which looks like the image of the power on/off button on my Mac Pro :O

    Anyone know why? is this because I've got the gtx 285 in there?

    Kind Regards
     
  9. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #9
    Yep, it is. Do you have another card you could use? Like that 8800GT? It only takes a minute or two to make the switch.
     
  10. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    Hmm, thanks, I do but I don't want to do it, are there 10.5.7 discs out?

    Kind Regards
     
  11. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
    #11
    It doesn't matter what OS the disc is... this looks like a deeper problem.

    -Omi
     
  12. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #12
    It's not so much the OS disc as that trying to boot OS X with a GTX 285 without installing a certain kext from Nvidia will cause a kernel panic. This is well known and not technically a "bug". If you buy the EVGA card, it strongly warns you to install the kext before installing the card, or you will get a KP.
     
  13. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    What is a "kext" and how do I get it? I already installed the drivers for the GTX :O?

    I could switch out the GTX w/ the 8800 GT, but I'm so worried I'll accidently touch a golden thing or something I shouldn't and it won't startup!

    Kind Regards
     
  14. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    kernel extension
     
  15. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #15
    In this case, also known as the driver.
     

Share This Page