Forgot to power down

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Mossley Hall, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. Mossley Hall macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #1
    Help wanted please.
    I needed to change my battery in my iphone 5, no problem in itself, lots of videos on line. sadly I forgot to power down the iphone first and now i cant switch it on. Anyone know a fix for this? I have tried itunes but it says before i can restore I need to have "find my iphone" switched off the handset
     
  2. NastyComputers macrumors regular

    NastyComputers

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Tehachapi CA
    #2
    Have you tried a hard reset? Holding the power button and home button at the same time. Could take up to a min before anything happens but its worth a shot...
     
  3. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
  4. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #4
    Nothing unfortunately and held them down for 2 mins but thanks for the tip
    Phil
     
  5. NastyComputers macrumors regular

    NastyComputers

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Tehachapi CA
    #5
    I found this on a comment from a youtube video...maybe give it a go seeing you don't have much to lose at this point...

    Open it up. Remove the battery. Loosen the volume button screws back to their original tension. Put the battery back in. Seal up the case. Press and hold the Sleep/Wake/Power and Home buttons at the same time for 10 seconds plus
     
  6. NastyComputers macrumors regular

    NastyComputers

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Tehachapi CA
    #6
  7. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #7
    Again, nothing sadly but thanks for your help
     
  8. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #8
    Nope still nothing, feeling real stupid for doing that
     
  9. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #9
    When i plug it into my pc there is the usual recognition ping but strangely it then pings every 4 or 5 seconds.
     
  10. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #10
    just tried to back it up but it wont as i cant put the passcode in.
     
  11. wlossw macrumors 65816

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #11
    sounds like something isn't connected correctly, or you got a a bad replacement part.
     
  12. Mossley Hall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mossley Hall

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    #12
    Managed to get my pc to restore the program but it still wont power up. Taken it apart again, removed the screen connection plate checked connections and put back. Tried it again, does nothing. put old battery back, nothing. Seems like something must have happened due to me disconnecting the old battery without powering the phone off first I guess. thanks for your assistance.
     

Share This Page