Format drive as 2 partitions, possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by WillFisher, Mar 18, 2013.

1. WillFisher macrumors 6502

WillFisher

Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong place, I wasn't 100% sure where to put it/if it had been asked before.

Basically, I currently have an iTunes library on my Mac Mini of about 120gb, so not too much. I'm looking at getting an external drive around 2TB, but I was wondering...
    I have 1 250GB external that I use as backup for my MBP, but don't have a backup for my Mac Mini. I'm a student so I'd like to save money initially and only get 1 drive, I was wondering if I could partition 1 drive, say a 2TB drive, into 1TB as storage, and the other 1TB as a backup drive for time machine? Is this possible?
    Then, when money issues are over, actually get a second drive. But for the meantime, can I do that?

Thanks!

2. simsaladimbamba

Yes, that is possible with Disk Utility.

Links to guides on how to use Disk Utility, the application Mac OS X provides for managing internal and external HDD/SSDs and its formats.

3. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

FreakinEurekan

You can, but you won't have any backup for the data on the storage partition. If the drive dies, you lose both your storage and your Time Machine backup.

4. WillFisher thread starter macrumors 6502

WillFisher

Thanks for the replies guys!

I understand that I will lose both data and backup, but it would only be a temporary solution, maybe 6 months at the very most. Hopefully I'll be okay for then. Thank you!

5. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

FreakinEurekan

Since it's temporary, I'd suggest not partitioning. You can use the drive for Time Machine and also copy files to the unused space on it. That way, when you get a dedicated data drive later you can just move the data off this drive & it won't need to be re-partitioned.

6. WillFisher thread starter macrumors 6502

WillFisher

Ah okay, even better! Thanks for the help!

7. Jesla, Mar 19, 2013