Format ibook HD?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bigorangekitty, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. bigorangekitty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #1
    i just replaced the HD in an ibook G3, trying to format and put Leopard on it. anything i need to know? I hold down "C" for the Leopard disk, and a blue screen comes on then it goes black.

    anyone?

    please?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    You cannot run Leopard on a G3. Use the original discs or Tiger or Panther.

    TEG
     
  3. bigorangekitty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #3
    she didn't give me any back ups or panther or tiger... she gave me Leopard and an "Apple Care" disk


    if i get panther or tiger, will it recognize the new drive? is this the problem?
     
  4. bigorangekitty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #4
    i managed to call a friend who will sell me tiger... will it recognize new hard drive?
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    Yes. It should be no problem. Just start from the DVD and after selecting the language, use the menus to access Disk Utility to format the Disk as MacOS Extended (Journaled).

    TEG
     

Share This Page