Formatting Fat32 from a Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Keebler, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi,

    I realize it may sound stupid, but i need to format an external Lacie HD into FAT32 from my Mac. As of now, it's formatted for the mac, but i need the fat32 b/c i'll be using it on both windows and the mac.

    The windows machine doesn't have a firewire port and the HD only has FW.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,
    keebler
     
  2. nylock10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #3
    Yes, Disk Utility can erase drives and partitions and format them as FAT32 (it appears as MS-DOS instead of just FAT32, though).
     
  3. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    omg..i'm such a noob for not knowing that. sorry guys. what a useless thread.
    :eek:

    I apologize for wasting your time. (btw, thanks!)
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #5
    Then you won't be able to use it with your Windows machine even if you do format it as FAT32.
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    Get an external that has USB or get a firewire card for the PC. :D
     
  6. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    sorry.. i didn't explain myself well enough. it's not to connect to my pc, but to a colleague's pc. otherwise, i would use an external with USB.
     

Share This Page