formatting free space on ntfs drive to HFS+

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CrAkD, May 22, 2010.

  1. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    I have a hard drive that had 2 ntfs partitions. I deleted one of the ntfs partitions in windows so now half the drive is free space but disk utility wont touch it without formatting the other partition. is there a 3rd party osx app i can use to turn this into a usable hfs+ drive?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    If you are at home format the HFS+ and make windows see that format by installing MacDrive on the Windows whatever you have box.
     
  3. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    well that wont work because the windows partition on the drive is a windows boot partition so I need to keep it intact.
     
  4. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #4
    I think the safest thing is to backup everything (both windows & Mac partitions) to another drive and reformat then restore.
     
  5. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Yeah I was trying that for some reason the windows 7 backup thing won't run. I backed up all the files. But I won't be able to restore....I guess I'll keep trying to get the backup system image in windows to work
     
  6. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #6
    Try this to back up your windows partition.http://twocanoes.com/winclone/
    It works great, but follow the specific instructions if you make the partition smaller.
     
  7. CrAkD thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    thanks for the replys! I asked on another forum and someone suggested parted magic and that worked perfectly without having to format! thanks again!
     

Share This Page