Formatting Internal HDD on Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Markleshark, May 21, 2010.

  1. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #1
    Afternoon all,

    I noticed this morning my internal 1TB HDD I use for my Time Machine backups had disappeared from Finder, tried formatting/First Aid and I get the following error

    Tried the fixes on MacFixIt but I get the following errors in Terminal

    andddddd

    Any ideas? Could really do without the drive being cooked.

    Thanks,
    Mark.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Have you booted from the install disk and tried its Disk Utility? Have another computer to try it with?
     
  3. Markleshark thread starter macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #3
    Don't have another computer to try it in, but I shall try booting off the install DVD and report back.
     
  4. Markleshark thread starter macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #4
    Nope, same faults when booting from Install DVD.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Have you tried it on different SATA port? Are there any important files you need? If so, investing on DiskWarrior could be worth it
     
  6. Markleshark thread starter macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #6
    Nothing important, it's just my Time Machine backup drive, just means I'm currently running without a backup. I'll try a different SATA port tomorrow.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Ahh okay! New HD is ~60$ anyway so not a big loss
     
  8. Markleshark thread starter macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #8
    Yeah, I know. It's been an expensive few months, so it's £50 I could have done without spending. However, you are right, it's not exactly earth shattering.
     
  9. InfinitEnd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #9
    I know this post is old but I was having the same problem with my 2009 MBP and thought others may be too. Orignal HD quit and I couldn't boot under any mode. Oddly enough when I disconnected the HD and plugged it back in, it fully booted before crashing, then back to the original failure to boot every time after. I bought and installed a new SSD but wasn't able to format/erase due to the same "cannot allocate memory" error using Disk Utility or Terminal. After playing with the SATA cable a bit just to make sure it had good connections I was able to format the drive and install 10.6 with no problems. I think that would explain why unplugging the original HD and plugging it back in allowed it to boot once. It's been a day since I installed OSX on the new SSD and I haven't had any problems. I'm going to replace the SATA cable just to be sure, but I think this may be the problem for others with older MBPs who are trying install a new drive.

    If you're having this problem trying formatting the new HD via a USB/SATA cable (instead of in your macs HD bay) before you return the drive or give up. Worst case you'll rule out the SATA connection, but this worked for me.
     

Share This Page