Found a glitch in iPhone SMS - kind of funny.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aprofetto, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. aprofetto macrumors 6502a

    aprofetto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #1
    Okay here it is...

    Open SMS, and type exactly this:

    Maybe we do sherway today? [space] [space]

    Very important you do the question mark and follow it by two spaces.

    If you do it correctly, the question marks turns into a period. I've tried with different sentences and it stays as it should, only this one seems to set it off, maybe its something to do with grammer?

    NOTE: This only works in SMS, no other typing apps that I've tested.
     
  2. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
  3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #3
    I know there is an option to turn two spaces into a period. Not sure if it should overwrite the ? character though. The iPhone does tend to perform its auto-correction based on the user though so it may only work for you.

    Look under "Settings", "General", "Keyboard". 4th slider down.
     
  4. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Nope, doesn't work in 3.0.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. RumMunkey macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US) AppleWebKit/530.17 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Safari/530.17)

    Whoa! This is weird!



    "Maybe we do sherway today?" plus two spaces turns the "?" into a "."



    "Maybe we do sherway?" plus two spaces gives leaves the "?" alone as normal.



    "Maybe we do mills" plus two spaces gives me a period as normal.



    "Maybe we do mills today?" plus two spaces gives me just two spaces -leaves the "?" alone.





    What is it about that sentence that runs the "two spaces = put in a period" shortcut?
     
  6. aprofetto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aprofetto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    Sorry I don't have 3.0, but it works for 2.2.1, can anyone else verify this? Now I'm getting embarrassed lol... :eek:
     
  7. CavemanUK macrumors 6502

    CavemanUK

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Rhyl, North Wales
    #7
    no dis-respect my friend but im confused to how this is funny? if i read correctly, the question mark turns into a period (or full stop as we say in uk!). wheres the joke? not trying to be awkward or anything. i really dont get it!

    surely this is just a bug... nothing more or less.
     
  8. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    I don't know why it would ever erase the question mark, but I know that it is a new feature that if you hit the space button twice real quick it puts a period and then a space. Maybe the difference has to do with how fast you're hitting the space button?
     
  9. aprofetto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aprofetto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #9
    Doesn't matter how fast or slow, still replaces it.
     
  10. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #10

    Sometimes we use the word 'funny' as another way of saying 'strange' or 'weird'. I don't know what caused you to write a whole post about how this isn't funny, but you just convinced me to never go to the UK. THANKS!
     
  11. aprofetto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aprofetto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #11
    Okay, sorry?
     
  12. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #12
    ?. is not proper grammar so if you hit two spaces (which on the iphone creates a period) it will erase the ? and give you a period as its proper grammar.
     
  13. aprofetto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aprofetto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #13
    No, we're not typing a period at all, the two spaces removes the question mark and puts a period.

    A sentence that ends in a question mark needs two spaces to follow it before you start the next sentence (for proper grammar).

    EDIT: The above may be confusing. Basically this only happens for the sentence I posted (that I've found thus far). You probably type stuff ending in question marks alot and then type two spaces to start the next sentence. The funny thing is here when you type those two spaces it changes the question mark into a period.
     
  14. actorkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #14
    first of all, i got it to work

    second of all...it has nothing to do with the magic sentence that you wrote out...

    you are right it is a glitch, but the only reason this glitch is occurring is because the amount of characters in the sentence "Maybe we do sherway today?" is the exact amount of characters it takes to fill one line in the sms text bar. Type any other sentence with the same amount of characters and the same thing happens

    for example, replace the word "today" with another five letter word...how about "apple"(lol)...the same thing will happen.

    this also explains why it doesn't work on 3.0....because of the mms button on 3.0, the amount of characters per line in the text box is different, not allowing the glitch to take place

    i don't know why the glitch happens, but there is the reasoning behind it.
     
  15. peterdevries macrumors 68040

    peterdevries

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #15
    Hmmm. This is an international discussion board. Everyone makes mistakes and no-one knows everything. :rolleyes:

    You judge the UK on the basis of one person not knowing all meanings of the word "funny"? :rolleyes:

    Thanks for not coming to Europe. We already have a narrow-minded person..
     
  16. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #16
    I was being sarcastic. The real reason I'll never visit the UK in the near future is because of the economy and the price of the iPhone!
     
  17. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    Yeah...

    Typing two spaces after ending a sentence is old school, yo.
     
  18. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #18
    Two spaces after a period is 'supposedly' correct grammar. I personally think its stupid as when you come to layout some artwork from an MS Word user you have to go through the entire document taking out all the extra spaces. What does two spaces give you that one doesnt? Someone once told me "its to distinguish the end of a sentence" So I asked "so what is a period for?" They had no answer.

    Also I don't think you put two spaces after a ? so thats why it replaces the ? with a .
     
  19. hippojay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #19
    It's not exactly the number of characters, but the number of characters taken to fill the text box. As fixed width characters aren't used, then this depends on the character typed. For instance 57 "i"s will also do the job..
     
  20. RumMunkey macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US) AppleWebKit/530.17 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Safari/530.17)

    I figured it out, then came here to post, but ActorKid already got it.



    It's the number of characters up to the line wrap point.



    When you use the "double space = insert a period and set me up for a capital letter" shortcut AT THE EXACT POINT OF THE LINE WRAP, it replaces your "?" with a "."
     
  21. aprofetto thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aprofetto

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #21
    Ahh cool. I tried the character thing before but it didn't change it. But I see what you mean with the width's of certain characters and such.

    Still weird that it adds a period, no?
     
  22. CavemanUK macrumors 6502

    CavemanUK

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    Rhyl, North Wales
    #22
    Well at least we are polite to each other. All I wanted to know was if I was missing some kind of amusing joke. In the UK if you read a subject that says something is 'kind of funny' then you tend to expect something amusing. As you said, this is more of a weird or strange behaviour.

    PS: Im sorry us brits are different than you. If you could forward me a handbook on how to be just like you, I will get right to work correcting my personality problems.
     
  23. alangrehan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #23
    What a pointless thread.....

    I rarely post but I felt I just had to log in and say that!

    SMS and grammar don't exactly go hand in hand :rolleyes:

    the only people I know who use full stops in texts are iphone owners anyway!
     
  24. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #24
    ha!

    No no, keep going. I love dry British humour (see what i did there? I wrote humor so you'd be able to read it).

    I'm still not sure what it is you said/did wrong.
     
  25. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #25
    whatever

    Oh, don't cop out behind SMS and grammar ineptitude. I used correct grammar, save maybe capitalization, when I had t9 on my old phones. Incorrect grammar makes you look ignorant and/or stupid, no matter where you are typing it from.
     

Share This Page