Foundry Nuke on Retina MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by acidbattery, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. acidbattery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #1
    Yo

    Excited for my MacBook to arrive. Anyone tried running Nuke on their rMBP? Just intrigued to how it runs as its all I'll be using my mac for

    Cool
     
  2. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    I have mine on order. I will be trying it as soon as I get it!
     
  3. acidbattery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #3
    Nice let me know how it goes. Was doing some paint work today on my Linux tower and it was struggling a bit. Would be nicely surprised if the rMBP can run it smoothly. Either way, would be good to have to do work on the move... Kind of

    Edit: cheers for the reply, was starting to think no one used nuke on a mac for moment... I knew there had to be at least one other person
     
  4. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
  5. sfxguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Mine is on order as well. I'll let you know my results as well.
     
  6. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    This new Macbook is replacing my 2008 Mac Pro. So I have high hopes!
     
  7. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    ok, if you are still curious how well nuke runs on Retina Macbook Pro. IT SMOKES!!!!

    I have a project I had to take home. It's a very large project. It has 150 elements and a LOT of 3D projection going on.

    I backed the whole project up to my local disk (15GB total), and gave it a whirl.

    The shot uses 4GB ram at startup, and has gone as high as 13GB while working on it. It takes about an hour to render locally on the Mac Pro I've been using.

    Here's the details!

    3D view is SUPER FAST! Loaded in everything with 2k textures and it doesn't even slow it down.

    On my 2011 12-core, 16GB, HD5870 Mac Pro at work, a frame takes about 22 seconds to buffer when changes are made to it.

    On the Retina MacBook Pro, running the footage off the internal SSD.
    9 SECONDS!!!!!

    This thing is a POWERHOUSE!!! I am so happy! I actually have a 4.5lb portable Mac Pro now! Thank you apple...you did it again!

    Oh, just in case you're wondering, running Nuke 6.3v8
     
  8. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    Just so you know there is a response.
     
  9. jonfarr macrumors 6502a

    jonfarr

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    Portland
  10. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    as an added little bit of wonderful, using SwitchresRX I was able to get it so when I use Nuke or Mocha it switches to unscaled 2880x1800 (I have my DAG on the second display so it looks perfectly normal for control panels.) and when I switch back to safari or notes it switches back to normal scaled res!!

    Now I can work in Nuke and have my viewer displayed at native res while my controls are normal 1920x1200 on my second display. Plus the workable viewer window fills nearly the entire screen!! This is gonna be fun!!
     
  11. sfxguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    That's awesome.
    Did you upgrade to Mountain Lion yet?
    Wondering if it works on in it or if I should be holding out.
     
  12. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    yup, running perfectly in ML.
     
  13. acidbattery, Sep 9, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2012

    acidbattery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #13
    Yup, can totally confirm this. Working on a shot with a lot of 3D projection on a 12 core Linux machine at work takes about 14 seconds a frame...on my new rMBP is less than half of that time. Same with CG comping with about a million passes and using multiple mattes. Love this machine!


    Edit: running on ML, nuke 6.3v8
     
  14. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Same, ml 6.3v8
     
  15. nontroppo macrumors 6502

    nontroppo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #15
    but, but... the rMBP can't even browse Facebook, and have you tried resizing the app store window for 5 minutes endlessly, no way this is a professional machine...
     
  16. acidbattery thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #16
    lol loads of times, for ages
     
  17. nontroppo macrumors 6502

    nontroppo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #17
    ;)

    BTW anyone tried Nuke 7 beta on the rMBP?
     
  18. RiseDarthVader macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #18
    So has there been any mention of retina support for the viewer in Nuke 7?
     
  19. Sosoyan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    #19
    I can confirm that Nuke 7.0v2 is still non retina :(
     

Share This Page