Four questions

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Grenadier, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. Grenadier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #1
    1.Will the 2600 Pro run games like BF2, BF2142, Doom 3, Quake 4, Counter Strike Source, Civilization IV, (etc) at high-highest settings @ 1600x1200 w/ 2xAA at around 40fps ?
    My config would be 24" 2.8GHz, 2GB/4GB RAM, 2600 Pro.

    2.Does 4GB of RAM have such a tremendous impact apon games over 2GB to be worth the extra £450 ? (about $850)

    3.I have a 40" TV - could I hook up the iMac and play the games though there ?

    4.Is it possible to insert another GPU inside the Mac (atleast just for gaming in windows), or is that out of the question ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DaftUnion macrumors 6502a

    DaftUnion

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    1. Looks like the answer is yes for BF2 and no for most of the other games at those settings at least (http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3023&p=6)

    2. No it doesn't.

    3. Not sure on this but I think the answer is yes.

    4. Most def. not! It's most likely soldered on the motherboard and there's no room to put another one in there.
     
  3. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #3
    Also, you can buy 4Gb RAM for these for about £140 from other suppliers, so don't go for the Apple option.
     
  4. Grenadier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #4
    Aha, I see. Cheers.

    Why do you think it is that the 2600 sucks so much - could it be that drivers are bad ? (*crosses fingers and hopes the answer is 'yes'*)

    Ive been waiting almost a year to buy a iMac - I dont want to buy something now which will die at the games I play.
     
  5. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Now I have a question for you.

    Were you thinking of running these games under Windows on your iMac?
     
  6. Grenadier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #6
    Indeed.
    And before you say it, no im not getting a Windoze box :)
     
  7. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #7
    No, is not a driver issue but a hardware issue. The benchies show a differance in performance that is not due to Drivers but just not so stellar hardware.
     
  8. Grenadier thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #8
    *crys*

    Ive waited so long for the iMac update, but seriously, I dont think I can live with the 2600 Pro.

    I have slipped into a state of depression, having had seen benchmarks.
     
  9. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #9
    I hear you, im going to pick up a mac today but my question now is if i should buy the iMac Mac book or mac book pro.
     
  10. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    What an utter contradiction, if you aren't happy with the GFX in the iMac then why the hell would you purchase the MacBook?
     
  11. mavherzog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, WI
    #11
    Here's a 5th question (which I have yet to see answered):

    Is the 24" iMac still VESA-mountable?

    [ooo. I guess so! VESA adapter for new iMac]
     
  12. pcorajr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #12
    Sorry i did not explain my self better.

    My original plan was to buy the old 24" with 7600GT a better gaming mac than the current one.

    The main reason i am picking up a mac is for photo editing and ilife / dumping windows. My original plan was to try and get a computer that would give me both, gaming and OSX / iLife. But now the new Imacs only offer one end of the equation. So i either A: Buy a MacBook for just iLife and OSX and do gaming on my current PC or B: Buy the 2.2 MBP that does better at gaming and has the video card I want.

    Of course all this would have to fit whiting my budget.
     

Share This Page