FPS problem in wow

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by pscoble, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. pscoble macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Petaluma
    #1
    I have been playing wow on my mbp (15" 2.33 ghz) for sometime and the average fps was always 30-40 (fighting, traveling, and in cities). However recently this has dropped to 15-25 (traveling and in cites) and 10-16 fighting. I have lowered all the video settings however it still will not go above 25 fps. I was wondering what might have happened to change this.
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
  3. pscoble thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Petaluma
    #3
    Nope

    no I don't not would that affect it at all?
     
  4. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
  5. pscoble thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Petaluma
    #5
    Its not on and I haven't changed anything setting wise thats the weird thing.:confused:
     
  6. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #6
    Hmm... I've had the same problem since the 2.1 update as well. I also have a MBP. Seems to me that maybe there is a graphics problem or something in the latest update.
     
  7. pscoble thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Petaluma
    #7
    I agree after looking at the wow forms apparently a lot of people have been having this problem.
     
  8. c-Row macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    I switched from fullscreen to windowed mode yesterday which resulted in a huge increase of FPS rates. However, WOW keeps losing my entries on the Friends list... :confused:
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Interesting, I got a slight decrease when changing to windowed. I actually run in a maximised window because fullscreen mode disables the second display.

    Anyway, yes, my framerates are much lower now than they used to be.
     
  10. raykhrud macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland or Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    #10
    Same problem on iMac G5. It all was great after they revamped engine in 2.0, but now it's back to old days. But... only in Outland...
     
  11. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #11
    The WoW dev team is investigating and has made some early finds. We hope to tune this back up in coming patches.
     
  12. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #12
    Thank you, rbarris. :)
     
  13. Billicus macrumors 6502a

    Billicus

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    Charles City, Iowa
    #13
    Awesome! It's awesome to have you browsing Macrumors for problems. :D
     
  14. c-Row macrumors 65816

    c-Row

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    Could you please add fixing the Friends list to that future patch as well? ;)
     
  15. TilJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #15
    Agreed. Feedback to the community buys a lot of customer happiness :)
     
  16. Arkanok macrumors 6502a

    Arkanok

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #16
    I just bought one of the new sr mbp's, and i figured i'd see how it runs, so on 1440x900 with cranked visuals (AF on half though), i loaded up a character into Ironforge, and i was surprised that around the auction house area, where its usually very choppy, i was getting no lower than 40fps, but most of the time it stayed just above 60, and occasionally going up to even 80 and 90! However, i started a new blood elf, and in the blood elf starting zone, i was only getting around 25 - 40. I mean, i'm not complaining becuase thats a very playable frame rate, but i just found it odd that in the area i usually get the worst frame rate (Ironforge) i ended up getting the highest.

    I would love it if they figured out this problem however, so it runs that much better!
     
  17. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #17
    So its been determined that its WOW not the actual X1600 performance? btw, what are the settings that most people use in WOW OSX with the x1600?
     

Share This Page