Framerate studder In CoD:2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by bdgdoom, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. bdgdoom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #1
    hey guys, i've been playing cod2 on my pc since the day it came out. A few weeks ago i decided to take the plunge and buy myself a MBP. I purchased the 15" with the 128 8600m gt gpu.

    Here is where my problem starts. I get decent fps for a laptop (avg 40-60) with everything on high except for anti aliasing. But it felt laggy for some reason. I used the "g_drawfps 1" command to see my fps...this command shows the min fps, max fps, and the avg is the number outside the parentheses. the avg and the max fps are great, but the min fps is what bothers me, and what i think is the source of my jitters. the min fps is always somewhere from 10-20 fps..no more..which is weird because even if you look into a corner, in an empty server, the minimum fps does not rise. anyone have similar problems?

    i'm fully updated, and i've tried lowering my settings, but that seems to make my overall fps lower...which makes sense because my 7800gt on my pc slows down dramatically if i try to lower the render settings, both these gpu's like to be pushed. it's a shame that the 8600m gt has this bug.
     
  2. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #2
    I think you'll find it's a driver issue, and may well be updated in software over the coming months. I do occasionally get 'judders' in WoW under OS X, particularly just after logging in/entering new areas, even though the overall framerate is very high. I'm sure improvements will come in due course.

    I don't know how bad your issue is, but it's not really an issue at all on WoW under OS X in terms of playability.
     
  3. bdgdoom thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #3
    well i knew that gameplay would never be as good as on my mainly gaming pc, it's nice having to be able to keep from boredom while on the road, yet it does give me some headache when i get killed because of a judder.

    another thought just entered my mind, we're pretty sure its not a HD related issure right? 5400rpm wouldnt contribute to this in any way would it?
     
  4. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #4
    trying typing "/com_maxfps 512" to max out the ram usage. trying typing "/com_maxfps 1000" for max fps rate. does that help a little?
     
  5. bdgdoom thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #5
    max fps is not a problem, its the min fps that bothers me. i have my com_maxfps at 125...but usually they'll be at around 50...which is playable, if it wasnt for my min fps to be at 15 fps...it seems as if only half of the time does the gpu actually work, and the rest, its just idle.
     

Share This Page