FrankenBook G4 - The Quest for more Hertz!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 128keaton, Jun 4, 2016.

  1. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #1
    What started out as a 'your mama is slower than my mama' PowerBook G4 867MHz with 512MB of RAM, broken hinges, bent bottom plate, and tired battery, is now a PowerBook G4 1GHz with a whopping 1 GB of RAM and hinges tougher than a Russian grand ma-ma. Here is the story.

    Recently, another forum user, @eyoungren, purchased his son an Aluminum PowerBook G4. Before this purchase, his son used a 1GHz TiBook, which Erik commonly said, it was a 'rocket mac' :). This was quite special. Before this, I believe either the hinges or the screen broke on the 1GHz. And even before this, Erik owned a 400MHz (which I now have a selection of the parts) that literally deteriorated, (erik, do you still have that pic with the binder clip?) and broke, except the hinges, those, for whatever reason, broke before the 'strong, titanium' frame did. Armed with a 400MHz (low-res, with the Garamond font) Erik installed that screen onto the 1GHz (if any of this is wrong, please correct me. Thus, inducting FrankenBook ver 1.0.

    This Mac has presumably worked well for a bit, until the DC board decided to go on benefits, and cause all sorts of issues with the PowerBook, which was what prompted Erik to get the AlumBook. Me and Erik struck a deal, which involved him FedExing me a box containing the PowerBook and various parts from other failed experiments caused my Apple's failure to make a decently strong, thin, laptop in 2003.

    I've received the box, and set out to work. I removed the screens and boards from both laptops. I used a heat gun to remove the 'Terminator' hinges from the 400MHz screen (sadly damaging the polarizer, oops) and installed them on the 867MHz screen. I swapped logic boards, and carefully began reassembling the laptop. Thus, inducting FrankenBook ver 2.0, the prequel, into the world. Some say the original is better :D

    On first boot, I noticed the L3 Cache wasn't present, bummer. @LightBulbFun did a lot of impromptu troubleshooting to help determine the issue, which turned out to just be a failure of the cache. However, I was told, since the L3 cache is BGA soldered to the Logic Board, it may be as simple as reflowing. The case was very dusty inside, no doubt a side-effect of living in Arizona.

    Lastly, since I violated the glue with a heat gun, the hinge no longer sticks to the sides, causing it to pivot and push the bezel out. I need to get some JB-Weld SteelStik to remedy this. I'd use hot glue, but that isn't a lasting solution. Maybe Apple should have used JB-Weld instead of Titanium.

    Right now, this laptop is rocking a 128GB SSD, 1GB of RAM, and 10.5.8. With the package, I also received a very nice battery, along with a Belkin card compatible with OS X. The lack of L3 cache does show occasionally, but it feels very snappy over all, but that might be the RAM. Some might ask why, I ask, why not. :apple::apple:
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    2009. Died in late October.
    10391501_102239183126443_3588166_n.jpg

    March 2010, rebirth.
    23608_109254939091534_4407429_n.jpg 23608_109254932424868_6406511_n.jpg

    October 2011, replacement logic board is having issues after 3 year old daughter bounced laptop off couch.
    301153_294834243866935_590624790_n.jpg

    The binder clips. These kept pressure on specific spots of the second failing logicboard. Which kept the Mac from freezing. Which meant it could be used.
    384956_312455742104785_1788553571_n.jpg

    Replacement (the Mac I sent you) with damaged hinges (the hinges you mention are from the original TiBook whose screen I replaced the broken one with).
    424391_384883078195384_832312383_n.jpg
     
  3. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for the clarification Erik. It has started freezing on bootup or when its being heavily used. The temps arent outlandish, so I'm assuming this has something to do with the cache. I was already planning on reflowing a customer's macbook board today, so it looks like the TiBook is coming back apart. @eyoungren, potentially this is what was causing the freezing issues in the first place.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    My son reported that he could only use the laptop without it freezing on battery. The DC In board was very loose so I assumed that was the major issue. But I didn't really want to take it apart to replace that which is why I got him the new Mac. So, ultimately I did not investigate further.

    Damn. Wish I had looked closer at it before. Sorry about the problems.
     
  5. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    Nah, nah, its cool dude. With as much as you sent me, I can repair many more TiBooks that come my way :). On battery, it hasn't frozen, but during a Leo install, it froze. I am using my DC in board just fine. I think, since it was on battery, it didn't try using the cache (energy saving) but on the charger, it froze because it could utilize the full spec of the machine.
    Also, what is funny (to me) the in board is two screws and a cable. You don't even have to remove the ODD or HDD, much less the logic board.
     
  6. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #6
    Well, the reflow killed the board. Thats all folks
     
  7. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    Ah man, that sucks!!! :(
     
  8. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #8
    Yup. Gonna either OC my 867 or just wait for something cheap on Ebay. Might try reflowing again, but, I don't know. Kinda beat after assembling and disassembling so many times
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    I get it. That's one of the reasons I decided to just replace the PowerBook for my son.

    Just wasn't interested in dealing with it this time.
     
  10. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #10
    Erik actually found me another Logic Board online! This will be interesting! What did @bunnspecial say? Sometimes we do things that don't make sense for things we love? Something like that.
     
  11. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    Nice! Guess the LB works then eh?
     
  13. 128keaton thread starter macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #13
    Yup! A real champ! Another FrankenBook
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    And now I should hear your own "rocket" posts. :D
     
  15. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    It's ALIIIIIIIIVE!!
     

Share This Page