Free at last...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DZL, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. DZL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #1
    free at last, thank God almighty; I'm free at last.

    I've been a life-long PC user - I've always used it for 3d purposes (3ds max), but when I discovered the wonders of Bootcamp (now, Parallels, and VMware) - well, I decided to free myself from the shackles of Microsoft.

    I just ordered the new(est) macbook pro 17" with the high-res glossy screen upgrade, and a host of goodies: a Logitech V270 Cordless Optical Mouse, a Speck See Thru 17-Inch MacBook Pro Hard Case, a RadTech ScreenSavrz, a Sleevz from RadTech, and a ProTouch Keyboard Protector.

    o.k., maybe overkill on the add-ons, but what the hell!

    I will only run 3ds max on windows - I'm going to run all my other apps on the OSX.

    I've been lurking for a while, and gathering as much info as possible about the purchase - thanks to everyone who unknowingly helped out.

    I'll post pics as soon as everything arrives --

    DZL.
     
  2. KJmoon117 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    Amen brotha!

    I'm also hoping to get myself an iMac when the upgrade comes, just having problem convincing my dad who is the biggest Windows fan I know of...

    Have fun with your MacBook Pro!
     
  3. Mundy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #3
    Hopefully when Autodesk gives 3dsmax the rewrite that it so badly needs, they'll bring it to the Macintosh like they did Maya.
     
  4. DZL thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #4
    3ds max

    Mundy - That would be great - it's needed badly, to be sure.
     
  5. ricgnzlzcr macrumors 6502a

    ricgnzlzcr

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
  6. dkirlew macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    #6
    Autodesk never brought Maya to Mac. Iit was Alias the company Autodesk bought that brought Maya to Mac
     
  7. DZL thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #7
    maya

    dkirlew -

    yes, that's true, however Autodesk has continued to offer Maya for the OSX - the latest version 8.5 is available to apple users.
     
  8. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #8
    Congrats on your new computer, i would recommend you get Parallels 3.0 its really amazing and would work wonders so that you dont even have to use a windblows pc again.
     
  9. DZL thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #9
    parallels

    crazycat - thanks - but i hear that parallels slows down both op systems; as it basically splits resources - is this true?
     
  10. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #10
    I prefer VMWare to Parallels.
     

Share This Page