'Free' data with Orange PAYG and how to get it?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by MagentaDivine, Jan 20, 2010.

1. MagentaDivine macrumors newbie

Hi,

New here and an absolute novice to iphone and most things technical so please have mercy. I got an unlocked (jailbroken?) iphone for Christmas and am using it with my previous Orange PAYG sim.

Following a top up, I received a text from Orange telling me I receive 50MB of 'free' internet use very time I top up by £10 or more. Usually I will use wifi when indoors but it would be quite useful to access the web via my service provider.

I phoned Orange and they said I don't have to do anything as iphone is set up already to go, he obviously didn't realise the phone wasn't bought at an Orange store.

Can anyone tell me how I can activate this 50MB of data usage? Any help(nice and easy 'for beginners') would be greatly appreciated.

2. aristobrat macrumors G4

If you go to Settings > General > Network > Cellular Data Network, is the Cellular Data Network part setup?

3. MagentaDivine thread starter macrumors newbie

4. aristobrat macrumors G4

I think you need to have the top part filled in to get on a data network.

One of the easiest ways to fill it in (assuming you're on WiFi now) is to use Safari and surf over to http://www.unlockit.co.nz

From that web page, click Custom APN, then select your carrier from the "Carrier" pulldown.

The website should then configure your phone. (When it's done, you'll see where it filled the stuff in). Try to surf then.

5. ethical macrumors 68000

Are you sure your phone is Jailbroken? If you're in the UK, Orange sell the iPhone. Do you have the Cydia or Icy apps on your phone?

6. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

Go into an orange store and pick up an iPhone animal payg sim. They all include 250mb of data a month with each 10 pound u top up. Just pick the right animal for u be it texts or calls or a bit of both.

7. Steve Jobs=God macrumors 6502