Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ljw1976

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2008
seen a few via youtube i.e Operation 7

looks amazing and is free..but ive downloaded a few games..and they are not dmg files..and are exe files..and as im still new to this kinda downloading.im not sure how to open these files..can anyone help me on waht software i need to open these files and start playing some games...much appreciated once again mac lovers

Ljw1976

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2008
so how ??and what suggestions u have so i can play these free games..?

Ljw1976

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2008
it doesnt really answer my question does it..!!

cos i have seen on youtube some other people using another software so i was expecting someone with a answer that betters using windows..and thats why i switched to mac..

Bengt77

macrumors 68000
Jun 7, 2002
Europe
It does answer your question. You could run VMWare or Parallels Desktop, but either solution will offer you mediocre graphics acceleration. Running Windows natively through Boot Camp (included in both Leopard and Snow Leopard) will allow you to run said free game nicely. The only thing you'll need is a legal copy of Windows.

If you're in it mainly for the games, you're on the wrong platform. I do game regularly on my MacBook, though, and am perfectly happy with using Boot Camp and Windows Vista for my gaming needs.

Ljw1976

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 12, 2008
thanks for that..and now downlaoding aa....any advice on any more similar games on dmg only...??

spinnerlys

Sep 7, 2008
forlod bygningen
thanks for that..and now downlaoding aa....any advice on any more similar games on dmg only...??

DMG is short for Disk IMage, as the name says, an image (1:1 copy) of a disk, or just an image of a folder. DMGs use the file suffix .dmg.
.dmgs are native to Mac OS X.