Free Leopard w/ New iMac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by LittleJ09, Oct 1, 2007.

1. LittleJ09 macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,

I'm looking to buy myself a new iMac as soon as this Friday (10/5/07) :D and I'm wondering about the free upgrade to Leopard "deal."

As I understand it, in the past Apple has offered a free upgrade to the new OS when customers buy a mac that comes pre-loaded with the old OS between announcement and release. Is that accurate?

If so, are they really strict about the announcement date being the cut-off? I'm hoping Leopard's announcement will come this week and I won't have to worry about it.... but what happens if I buy an iMac on Friday, and Leopard is announced the following Tuesday? Does their "14-day" policy apply there?

It's not a huge deal, as a student I would get a good deal on Leopard anyways, but I'm just wondering if it would just be worth waiting to hear about Leopard (either release date or delay *gasp*) before buying.

Thanks for your thoughts!! :)

2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

Yes, that's true. And no, it must be after announcement....2 months 2 days, it's all the same if it's before the announcement.

3. Tumeg101 macrumors 6502a

Tumeg101

everybody gives this answer...

Apple's only written policy is I think 14 days before, and you will get like, half off...
    But it's there unwritten policy that nobody talks about...
    If you buy it maybe within a week, and you ask nicely, you will probably get a free upgrade, if you get turned down just keep asking other people, you will eventually find a free upgrade...

4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan