Carrier Free T-Mobile SIM

Discussion in 'iPad' started by EDH667, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. EDH667 macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
  2. macmulisha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    florida
    #2
    It says $10 when I just checked the site. Do I need to use the promo code to getting for free?
     
  3. EDH667 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    Yes, once you add the Promo Code it drops to $0. You can buy 2 for $0 during the purchase.
     
  4. macmulisha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    florida
    #4
    Thanks!!!
     
  5. myMacRumors macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #5

    Attached Files:

  6. EDH667 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    Scroll down for Nano-SIM.
     
  7. myMacRumors macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #7
    Promo code not applicable to Nano-SIM. Thank you!
     
  8. deeddawg, Nov 11, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2013

    deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Shows applicable here. You may need to select the "T-Mobile® SIM Starter Kit - Nano SIM - No Annual Contract" version.

    BTW, the site does ask for credit card for an order total of $0.00 -- my guess is they don't have logic in there to bypass the cc screen when a promo code eliminates all cost. I've ordered free sims before and didn't get charged anything.
     
  9. EDH667 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    Worked for me. I purchased 2 Nano-SIMs using the Second one on the list, 'T-Mobile Mobile Internet SIM ONLY KIT- Nano SIM'
     
  10. DollaTwentyFive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
  11. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #11
    ?

    Just ordered two nano "mobile internet" NanoSIM's w/o issue. Coupon applied, no problem.
     
  12. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #12
    same
     

    Attached Files:

    • tmo3.PNG
      tmo3.PNG
      File size:
      40.6 KB
      Views:
      146
  13. nixiemaiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Daytona Beach
    #13
    It doesn't charge you but it does put a temporary $1 hold on it. I tried using a prepaid visa with $0 on it and it wouldn't work.
     
  14. myMacRumors, Nov 11, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2013

    myMacRumors macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #14
    Thank you! promo code applied & confirmed two (2) Nano-SIM.
     
  15. balzmcfearson macrumors regular

    balzmcfearson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #15
  16. hogo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    so. cal
    #16
    Nice! Thanks guys for the info! Just ordered for my att ipad air :)
     
  17. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #17
    I'm a bit confused. I just ordered one and my receipt says "TMO PREPAID NANOSIM ACTIVATION KIT". I don't want a prepaid sim but one I can use to just setup my iPad Air on a normal monthly contract. T-Mobile completely screwed up my account with the iPad Air I bought from them a week ago Saturday and I just want to start over from scratch with a new sim like it's being activated for the first time.

    Thanks
     
  18. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #18
    I didn't work when I copy and pasted the promo code. Got it to work by typing it in.

    Thanks OP!
     
  19. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #19
    Seems the simpler thing to do would be to call T-Mobile or visit a corporate T-Mobile store and have them provide a new sim for free.
     
  20. EDH667 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #20
    I believe the SIM cards will allow both on demand or add it to your T-Mobile account. I had both options with the last SIM card I activated.
     
  21. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #21
    Copy/paste captures and pastes an added space at the end of the promo code which is causing it to not be recognized.

    Seems to me that website coding 101 would teach "strip trailing spaces from text field inputs"... :rolleyes:
     
  22. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #22
    I see :)

    I figured it was something with the copy and paste. I typed it in and it worked.
     
  23. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #23
    :p Have you ever gone into a T-Mobile store? At least at mine it takes forever to get anything done. Their computer system is always screwed up. And the customer service reps on the phone are hopeless. Everybody tells you a different story. That's how my sim got screwed up in the first place. And yes, it's a corp store. Their web sites are a disaster and down a lot of the time.

    This is my first experience with them and I was considering moving my phones over to them from AT&T because I could save quite a bit of money, but man, what a screwed up company! I wouldn't even think about it now.
     
  24. colodane macrumors 6502a

    colodane

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #24
    I'm not seeing the place to put in the promo code. What screen is it on?
     
  25. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #25
    It's at the bottom of the "Cart" screen.
     

Share This Page