Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hsgamerpl

Cancelled
Original poster
Aug 13, 2018
Warsaw, Poland
Hello,

This is my first time with iCloud, I always thought it works as Dropbox/OneDrive with on demand sync features. But looks like it does not or I do not know something.

I've copied all my content from my backup external drive straight to iCloud Drive folder to sync it with the cloud as another backup. but I do not want to STORE it locally after the upload is completed. But I see that iCloud Drive does not have such option as "store in cloud only".
I have tried "Optimize Mac storage" option but it does nothing for me.
I have 500GB SSD drive which currently has only 30GB free storage, wtf Apple?
Do I understand, that even after "factory reset" of MacBook, iCloud Drive will re-download the content? Then what is the point of having bigger SSD while it will be occupied anyway?

I do not know how to work with this service :(

BR,

Reactions: Hrbarnett

Phil A.

Moderator emeritus
Apr 2, 2006
Shropshire, UK
Having the Optimise Mac Storage option turned on sort of does what you want in as much as it will remove the local copies.

However, it will only do so when the OS decides it needs the disk space and the files haven't been used for a while - there is no way to control it manually

hsgamerpl

Cancelled
Original poster
Aug 13, 2018
Warsaw, Poland
Then I do not understand the purpose of using iCloud Drive as a cloud storage, when it stores files in both locations.
Second problem is, I want to import photos (100+GB) to Photos app, but again, Mac OS says I do not have enough space to do it (because iCloud Drive is taking up all the local space). How the hell am I supposed to do it then? Deleting from iCloud Drive folder will delete it from the cloud also. -.-

Reactions: Hrbarnett

afir93

macrumors 6502a
Jan 5, 2018