Free WiFi @ AT&T hotspots...or not?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sunday888, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. sunday888 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #1
    According to a couple threads, like this one, iPhone users are supposed to have free access to AT&Twifi hotspots.

    I was in a Barnes & Noble tonight, noticed the AT&T Hotspot sticker and decided to give it a try. No luck. I got an AT&T login/pay screen on my iPhone. So, is this an urban legend? Is there a special login that you need to have? Or something else? People claim to have done this, but for real?
     
  2. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #3
    what does that mean?
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    It's a direct reposnce to the title, "Free WiFi @ AT&T hotspots...or not?," meaning, "No."

    I believe the free AT&T wifi only applies to AT&T broadband customers.
     
  4. sunday888 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  5. RedInAustin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    #6
    AT&T WiFi hotspots are now (as of this week) free for AT&T DSL subscribers. If you have an AT&T DSL subscription higher than the 14.99 plan just use your user id & password from your DSL account when the login screen appears.

    McDonalds and Barnes & Nobles are the main hotspots. There's a map & text listing on at&t's site of their hotspots.
     
  6. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #7
    I'm not a DSL client and my iPhone works at all the McD's ATT wifi spots...no sign in, its automatic.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    I thought McDonalds' hotspots in the US had always been free to all users....
     
  8. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #9
    Nope.

     
  9. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #10
    I think in some cases they did have it open. Today I was by my local McDonald's though and they had a wayport sign up screen. I suspect until they got things set up they had it open for everyone.

    For AT&T Broadband customers over a certain level you can use your broadband login to use the AT&T wifi spots.
     
  10. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #11
    Interesting...I'll watch for that
     
  11. Cleverboy macrumors 65816

    Cleverboy

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Pocket Universe, nth Dimensional Complex Manifold
    #12
    Yeah... its interesting though. I was at a SIMONS mall the other day, and I got all happy 'cause I saw them popup in my WiFi zone, before I saw the screen saying they wanted $1 for like 5 hours or some such. I'm like "$1"??? If I could pay them $5 for the next 2 years, I'd just do it... not as if I'm there everyday. But $1? Nickel and dime ya everytime. :p

    It's interesting to read about the issues involved though:
    http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/columns/article.php/3456191

    Nice that some of their locations offer it for free though, why not everywhere?
    http://www.simon.com/mall/event_details.aspx?ID=1229&EID=60601

    ~ CB
     
  12. voidptr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #13
    I'd love to have $1 for 5 hours in airports. All the majors I've been to are $8 for a 24 hour block, but waiting for a connection I only need a couple hours. If you have multiple connections that day and the same provider covers both airports at least the login goes with you, but it's still steep. If you're not lucky, you'd have to shell out $8 at one to AT&T, and $8 at the next for boingo.

    The free wifi thing is almost enough to make me switch to AT&T DSL from TWC, except they don't sell DSL without a voice line as well, which I don't currently have. Adding a phone line to the mix makes AT&T about $10 or $15 more expensive than Road Runner. Without the voice it's actually cheaper.
     
  13. Dfndr90 macrumors regular

    Dfndr90

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    #14
    I have used the ATT Wifi at two Barnes and Noble locations so far with no problem, No sign on page what so ever. It was great, I was looking for a book, and did not remember the authors name, did a google search for the Wired Magazine article and BAM, I had the authors name.

    B&N did not have it in stock, so I checked Amazon on the IPhone while at B&N and found it cheaper there. If I am going to have to wait for B&N, might as well get it cheaper form Amazon with the free super saver shipping.

    Matt...
     
  14. odobo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #15
    SFO is $6 for first hour and $.6/hour afterward...:)
     
  15. sunday888 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #16
    So there's no apparent consistency from one AT&T hotspot to another. Trial and error, I guess. I checked into AT&T's rates for JUST hotspot access, nationwide. $20 per month. Um, no. It's not like I live at Barnes & Noble or MacDonalds!
     
  16. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    ian-frs

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #17
    I have bellsouth which was just bought by AT&T so can I use that DSL account to access these wifi spots?
     
  17. loudestnoise macrumors 6502

    loudestnoise

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #18
    No kidding, $1 is definitely impulse buy range. If Starbucks offered such rates I would go back to them in a second. Until that happens, which I doubt it ever will, I'll be going to places that give me free WiFi
     
  18. fart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The Nation's Fartland
    #19
    Panaras, Bear Rock Cafe, and Corner Bakery Cafe all offer free wifi and work great with the iPhone.

    They also have great coffee, better than Starbuck's normal brew, but they don't offer much in the espresso department.
     
  19. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #20
    Yes, but I believe you have to have 3 mb or higher speed on your DSL.
     

Share This Page