Freeing up HD Space

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AeroSatan, Jan 16, 2013.

1. AeroSatan macrumors member

AeroSatan

Hey guys, I am relatively new to Macs and I have a quick question. Let's say I download a movie, the movie is on my desktop. I proceed to dump the movie to my external drive and then dump the one that's on my desktop to the Trash Bin, I then empty the Trash Bin but for some reason when I go to About my Mac->Storage the amount of free HD space does not go back up. I've downloaded numerous movies and the deleted them but like I said before the memory doesn't seem to be freeing up. I am not down to 60GB free out of 500GB and no matter what I delete the hD space does not seem to be increasing back up. What am I doing wrong??

2. TRAV9614 macrumors regular

I have a free application called disks ace that I use to see what is on my hard drives and it is very useful. You can look at everything on your internal drive and any external hard drive you have plugged in. Here is the link you should give it a try.
    http://diskwave.barthe.ph/index.html

3. justperry macrumors 604

justperry

^^Although easy it's not really needed, you can click each folder on the root level and get info on it, then if you find a huge folder open it and do the same on all folders inside and so on.

The only problem here is that not all folders are visible.

To make folders visible you can do this in terminal but there is also a tiny program which does this for you, it's called Show & Hide and it's free.

If you want to go the above posters way there are plenty of free alternatives, Disk Inventory X gives you a graphical view of your files but there are plenty more.

4. AeroSatan thread starter macrumors member

AeroSatan

Just so I understand correctly

deleting a movie file for example from the desktop and then emptying the trash can does not actually remove the movie from the Hard drive itself?

5. justperry macrumors 604

justperry