Freezing Problems with iMacs bought after Leopard release?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by UNCMo96, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. UNCMo96 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    I've been itching to pull the trigger and buy the iMac. It seems like people who had freezing iMacs and then installed Leopard saw their problems remain. Are people who bought iMacs after leopard's release having problems after a fresh leopard install on an unused computer with tiger?
     
  2. samt14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #2
    Ya i upgraded to leopard and it freezes a lot, couple of times a day. If a fix isn't out by tomorrow nite (oct 31), i'm sending it off for repair under warranty
     
  3. technosexual macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #3
    I haven't experienced any issues of freezing. I had purchased a 24'' iMac, last Friday on launch.

    I had upgraded from 10.4 to 10.5, as the OS did not compe pre-installed.

    Hope other users can chime in with similar experiences.
     
  4. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Are you sure you bought the iMac after the release of Leopard? And as another note, can the people who bought Leopard preinstalled on their iMacs tell us if there are any problems? This should be interesting to find out.
     
  5. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #5
    How many people do you think actually have an iMac pre-installed with leopard?

    Everyone that bought their iMac at stores got a Leopard drop-in dvd...
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Yeah, no pre-installs for a few days yet.
     
  7. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    If you order online you will get it preinstalled.

    I don't think the Apple Stores will get the preinstalled ones for another 2~3 weeks.
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    So delivery by Thursday? Friday?
     
  9. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    I would suppose so unless you BTO. However please remember that Leopard has been preinstalled on all online purchased Macs since 27/10/07. There are bound to be some out there by now...right?
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    Maybe but I would say its 2 days minimum from China so probably a few but not many.
     
  11. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #11
    Uh... It is Tuesday....
    No there is not bound to be some out there...
     
  12. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #12
    It would be interesting to see if the iMacs preinstalled with Leopard get the lock-ups. I personally don't think they will because if it is a hardware issue those new ones should be fixed (Or else every iMac sold will freeze because 1.1 is built in to Leopard).
     
  13. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #13
    It's Wednesday over here in New Zealand, so I think there might be a chance. ;)
     
  14. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    But if it was a hardware issue surely Apple would have had it rectified long ago rather than risk selling knowingly defective products.
     
  15. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    That's why some iMacs aren't freezing with Leopard, while some are. It is very possible that Apple started to sell the iMacs which don't freeze before Leopard came preinstalled.
     
  16. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #16
    THERE IS NO REASON TO SUSPECT IT IS A HARDWARE ISSUE!

    There is not one credible source on the internet that gives any clue to it being a hardware problem.

    Here is Apple's direct statement:


     
  17. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #17
    The last kernal panic I had was a software issue from the ATI driver.

    I didn't freeze, so all I got was the logged soft panic.
     
  18. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #18
    I am not claiming that this is definitely a hardware issue, it's just that I suspect it is. There isn't a credible source stating it's definitely a software bug either. Some hardware problems can be worked around by software.
     
  19. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #19
    LOL, are you kidding me?

    You don't consider Apple a credible source?




    And I quote:

     
  20. UNCMo96 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #20
    If it was a software issue wouldn't ALL the iMacs be affected?
     
  21. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #21
    Yes and no...

    First day I installed Leopard I had about 12 lockups.

    I reinstalled and the past 2 days I have only had a single lockup.

    It is very picky for some reason.
     
  22. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #22
    I think you are mis-interpreting my post. I said that "Some hardware problems can be worked around by software."

    This is the way I interpret Apple's message. I think the software update can stand for updating the drivers thus fixing the issue (given that the Lock-ups are caused by software), OR it could stand for fixing the problems with a number of faulty HD2600 Cards. We interpret this message differently so let's not flame each other. We just want Apple to get this problem fixed.

    That's why I'm quite sure it's a number of faulty HD2600s causing the problems, not the software.
     
  23. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #23

    I think you like to argue for the sake of it...

    Your statement makes absolutely no sense.. It is like I am arguing with a 2 yr old...


    Yes it is

    Not it isnt

    Yes it is

    No it isnt

    All I am saying is CALM DOWN. Let's not throw our iMacs away, say they have garbage hardware, blame ATI products when Apple has told us it is SOFTWARE!!!!!

    Please don't try to act like you have "technical data". What do you know about masking hardware with software? You just repeated what you heard elsewhere.

    I don't mean to be rude, but we don't need to start a mass hysteria where everyone is returning their iMac's like the iPod Touch and then Apple releases a fix.
     
  24. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #24
    OK, it's November 1st over here now, and I'm still waiting for that fix.
     
  25. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #25
    Call Apple and see what they say.


    I will probably do the same Friday.
     

Share This Page