Freezing with 10.5 on iMacs?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by colorspace, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. colorspace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #1
    Posted this earlier but now with the GM of the 10.5 release out there... I was wondering if iMacs are still freezing w/ 10.5 (this is the input freeze that the 1.1 firmware seems to have caused).

    Thanks in advance for any input.
     
  2. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    For some people the 9A559 Build didn't seem to do anything, and for others it seemed to have reduced Freezing.

    The Golden Master wasn't released in public (build 9A581) so no one really knows if there's a fix.
     
  3. big.birdd macrumors member

    big.birdd

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    mm

    I'm planning on waiting a few weeks after leopards release so i can check that theres a fix before buying my new imac :)
     
  4. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #5
    Agreed.

    10.4 and 10.5 are not that different. Im sure if Apple had fixed it in 10.5 then they would have released a suitable update for 10.4 by now also.
    So I expect there will be updates to fix this for both 10.4 & 10.5. Might even be exactly the same update.
     
  5. colorspace thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    #6
    Luap:

    Wow, I hope so -- may it go from your keyboard to the great creator's giant plasma monitor...

    I'm holding off on getting a 2.8 24" until this is resolved. No point in swapping out my older machine with is 99.9% stable. Satbility still beats raw speed and flaming crash.
     
  6. Dr. Cheesesteak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    #7
    I wonder if 10.5 isn't going to include the 1.1 update by default, so all of us that have avoided freezes by rolling back to 1.0 are going to regret installing 10.5 come this weekend.

    I'm buying it.. but I might sit on the discs a few hours to see how it is treating the more brave iMac users than myself. ;)

    Mine has enough problems at 1.0... I'm hoping 10.5 is going to fix a lot of my issues but I don't have much hope.
     
  7. tmo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #8
    Leopard freezes Alu-iMac

    now i'm getting really really angry... after reinstalling tiger because of the toxic iMacUpdate 1.1 i had just about 2 weeks of "normal" iMac-use, and NOW when i just upgraded to Leopard: the same **** - it's absolutely unusable, it freezes in any kind of situation, again every 5 minutes.... Apple sucks !
     
  8. Yuppi macrumors regular

    Yuppi

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9
    Try resetting the PRAM. That helped for me. At least I do not had a freeze yet.
     
  9. MattFleming macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #10
    How would you reset the PRAM? Should I do that right after installing Leopard? Or before?
     
  10. Richard.John macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Yurigaoka, Japan
    #11
    I am getting freezing here after upgrading to 10.5. Upon wake up the mouse cannot be used so I have to shutdown to get back into control of the system. I wish I had not bothered now as it was fine with 10.4.
     
  11. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    I'm really getting bummed here. I was at the local Apple store tonight, just to see what was going on, and had a credit card ready for a new iMac. I've been thinking about this purchase for months, and I just couldn't do it, LOL.

    Seriously, I have a perfectly fine Powermac sitting on my desk, and I'm wondering if I should hold of on this purchase until a real fix is out there. This is very depressing as, even though the G5 runs great, it is not allowing me to do a number of things I want to, like actually edit AVCHD video from my new cam.

    I also don't want to buy a new iMac and NOT install Leopard right of the bat as I want a clean install. I know I could probably run Tiger for a while, but then I either have to "upgrade" or wipe and re-install.

    Is there any glimmer of hope in getting a new iMac that will actually run Leopard without these issues? Or is waiting for a fix really the better way?

    Sorry to thread jack, just really bummed out as I was ready to come home tonight with a new machine.
     
  12. Dr. Cheesesteak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    #13
    Well, if you bought it and threw Leopard on and it freezes, you would at least be able to return/exchange it as you'd still be in the 14-day window.

    I think a lot of us are just in a bad place with this because we don't have that option. If I still had the option to do so, I'd exchange this machine in a heartbeat - but the 1.1 issue didn't surface until it was too late for me.

    Someone posted on Apple discussions that an Apple CSR said the patch was coming tonight or on Monday - so if you want to be safe I'd at least wait and see what happens in that time frame.
     
  13. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #14
    Well, of my 2 iMacs, one is freezing regularly in OSX and occasionally under XP (bootcamp) using the Catalyst 7.10 drivers. I called Apple and they are willing to swap it so I might do that if no fix is available by Monday.
     
  14. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #15
    Is it possible that some iMacs have manufacturing defects?
    The software is the same.
    The hardware is the same.
    The performance and reliability are definitely not the same.
     
  15. Yuppi macrumors regular

    Yuppi

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #16
    I archived very interesting effects with resetting the PRAM. When I first upgraded to 1.1 I had a lot of freezes. I then downgraded to 1.0 and had some freezes. But not so frequent anymore. I reseted the PRAM and 1.0 worked smoothly.

    After upgrading to leopard the freezes where back again. But a PRAM reset made the cat running smoothly.

    To me it seems more likely that the 1.1 driver brought the graphic chip in a weird state it was no longer possible to recover. Resetting the PRAM then does the trick because the graphic card is initialized cleanly.

    Oh, and even though apple ordered the same chips for all iMacs that does not mean that they are all the same. AMD uses a process to rate chips. It thus might happen that one chip that has 6 pipelines in reality has just 3 working ones. It is then sold as a lower quality card where only the 3 pipelines are enabled. So the quality range of graphic chips is quite big.
     
  16. Bolteh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #17

    I"ll add to that by saying that I installed 1.1 and then reset the PRAM, and I haven't had a freeze for 2 days now. Hope it stays this way so I can get some work done.
     
  17. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #18
    I bought my 20" 2.4Ghz iMac on 7th August.

    It froze just the once, after the 1.1 update around mid September.

    It hasn't frozen since.

    It hasn't frozen with Leopard, which I installed yesterday.
     
  18. caseydude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #19
    Ok so heres my deal,I bought my 24" Imac from the Apple online store
    when I got it home and booted it up it ran great for the day,the next day I updated the software it found 15 updates and I installed them all,from then on it started freezing and not wanting to reboot (unless I pull the powercord
    for 30 secs) so I restored it to factory settings and no more freezing,then Leopard arrives at my door I install it and the freezing starts again,I install
    bootcamp and install Vista no freezing on the Vista side just the Mac side
    now that is weird to me,Guess im stuck with Vista till the freeze fix comes out.
     
  19. atthecross macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #20
    How do you downgrade to 1.0?
     
  20. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #21
    works for me

    I had random freezing with firefox, maybe twice a week. Leopard seems to have fixed that for me. I am trying out Netscape Nav 9 and like it...
     
  21. djc6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #22
    Lame.

    I was only intermittently experiencing the freezing problem on my 24" iMac... Last night I completely wiped everything, did an Erase & Install of Leopard, and now I am very frequently getting the "** ASIC Hang Log Start **" type freezes. Same as usual, I can ssh in and check /var/log/system.log while the GUI is completely frozen.
     
  22. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #23
    Lockups gone with newest update.

    It seems as though the lockups are gone with my newest update to Leopard about an hour ago on my Alum Imac 2.8 24" Xtreme. Could Apple have stuck a fix for the video in there too? Any others having the same experience as me?
     
  23. Spankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #24
    I didn't get an update, but I did reset my PRAM a few times and that solved all my freezing in WoW. Comp is working like a charm.
     
  24. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #25
    Update

    The update is some keychain update or something, anyway, it worked. No more lock ups on anything. I have put it through the mill and nothing.

    I am convinced they fixed it in the update.:)
     

Share This Page