fresh install: carbon copy cloner or time machine ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rb6, Sep 20, 2009.

1. rb6 macrumors newbie

hello people,

first of all, I'm not really experienced at archiving/backup files so just give me a "newbie-chance". I have a 1 year old unibody MBP and I mainly use it for audio works. I haven't kept it clean and now I'm having troubles with crashing while working. I've deciced to do a fresh install and start again.

I don't want to loose my samples / projects so I want to make a backup of my entire machine. I have a 250Go seagate bus-powered ext. hard drive which isn't used that much, I though I could use it. but I have a few questions:

1) what's the best way to do a fresh install ? I think it's to boot the laptop with the OSX DVD and hold the "C" key or something like that, is that right ??

2) but before the fresh stat, I want to backup my entire machine. what is the best tool to use, I'm not familiar with time machine, and I don't think I want to use it after the fresh install. I get the feeling it would somehow mess up with my audio works.

that's what I thought about CCC, it seems to have fairly good reputation and it's free (well, a donation-ware, if I'm not mistaken)... would it be better to backup with CCC ? or just use the time machine to backup the machine just one time and then do the fresh install ??

---------------------

as you can see, I'm a backup-noob, so please give me as much info as possible. thanks,

arbee

EDIT: BTW, I'm on leopard.

2. jzuena macrumors 6502a

jzuena

If it is a one-time backup, I would use CCC. Time Machine is more for incrementally backing your machine up as files change. Once you get your system re-installed, I would turn Time Machine on, though unless you are good about running CCC once a week or so to keep a backup. You don't want your hard drive to fail and lose everything. Your machine is only a year old so the chances are nothing will happen for a few more years, but you never know.