Fresh Install v. Time Machine Backup

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Robdmb, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Robdmb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I am installing a SSD in my 2011 iMac today. I have backed up all of my files and done a recent Time Machine Backup. I am wondering what the recommended way to reinstall OSX is? I was just going to do a clean install versus restoring the backup. The reason being there are some applications I dont want to reinstall, etc.

    The main files I am concerned about is my Photos Library (which is backed up and also stored in iCloud).

    Any thoughts as to best way to proceed? Is doing a true "new install" the best way to go versus restoring old files?

    Thanks.

    - Rob
     
  2. rigormortis, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #2
    you can do a new install and use migration assistant to restore from time machine, heh


    try verifying the backup ( option click time machine icon ) to force it to verify your backups

    i got that weird error a few weeks ago. your backup cannot be verified , and a new chain must be made. i got that error twice in a row. so i need up deleting the entire sparse bundle and making a new backup from scratch

    i had this one problem where i had snow leopard and i was moving to a new computer and because of photos - iPhotos , time machine wouldnt restore my pictures
    --- Post Merged, Mar 26, 2016 ---
    i like making a sd card out of a ' install os x app ' and using that to erase the computer and install. that way i don't have to wait to download os x over the internet. when you install os x over the internet, they give you the version the computer came with, they might not give you the newest version

    i usually don't do a new install and migrate from time machine i usually just boot up recovery mode and restore from time machine



    http://osxdaily.com/2015/09/30/create-os-x-el-capitan-boot-install-drive/
     
  3. Robdmb thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #3
    Can you make a bootable drive out a SD card?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 26, 2016 ---
    Sorry for my confusion, if you do migration assistant via Time Machine, do you still need the bootable flash drive?

    Also, if you do create the bootable flash drive, how do you then use that to format/install OS X on the new SSD?
     
  4. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #4
    insert the bootable flash drive and then hold option when you turn your mac on.

    Rigor - I'm pretty sure if you redownload the installer app it will install the newest version of OS X. However, if you install from recovery drive it installs the older version. I believe internet recovery also installs the oldest version. The recovery partition doesn't seem to update if your mac came with an older version and you had updated through the App Store
    --- Post Merged, Mar 26, 2016 ---
    The installer still says it is installing the base version but it will actually install the .4 update
     
  5. rigormortis, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5

    yes. installing from internet recovery downloads the older version. it's just been a while and i wasn't sure if they changed it to ask you for your mac app store login to see what version you bought
     
  6. rigormortis, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #6
    erased hard disk partially full pass x 1
    it took a couple times of holding down command option r and turning off and on the power button to get internet recovery to boot
    needed wired keyboard
    didn't have to enter wifi password.
    mac must keep a wifi password in pram or smc???
    waited 8 minutes for the globe to finish
    success ! apple logo replaced flashing folder

    what i learned
    your pram contains your wifi password.
     
  7. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #7
    I always wondered how the wifi part was bypassed!
     
  8. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #8
    i didn't try unplugging the power supply to reset the smc, but i did clear the pram and sure enough it asked me for my wifi password! hah!
     

Share This Page