MP 1,1-5,1 Fresh Mojave + Windows

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nofxrs, Jul 20, 2019.

  1. nofxrs macrumors newbie

    nofxrs

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Location:
    Porto Alegre - Brazil
    #1
    hi guys!
    Just did an upgrade.

    Sabrent 1 tb nvme + kyro m2 as main Mojave - all good no problems.

    The thing is i formatted the old ahci kingston predator to install windows, but wasnt able to boot the windows cd before ( pressing c) removing the rx580 and plugging the original radeon. Had to do holding alt.


    The windows installation proccess was successful - but when i shut down and tried to put the rx 580 back, windows get nothing but black screen.

    Any thoughts on this since ive already did something similar but with windows installed on a regular sata hdd?


    Thanks a lot in advance
     
  2. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    Try leaving it on the black screen for 10-15 minutes. It may be downloading the driver for the RX580 in the background and will load the screen image when it's done.

    You could also try installing both GPUs (connect monitor to the original radeon until Windows boots, check to make sure a driver is installed for the 580, then unplug it and connect to the 580. If it works then try to shut down and remove the original card, leaving just the 580 installed.
     
  3. nofxrs thread starter macrumors newbie

    nofxrs

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Location:
    Porto Alegre - Brazil
    #3
    Gonna try both steps...
    For the second one - how may i power the cards?

    Alao im afraid ive bricked my room installing wrongly, via efi and not legacy ://
     
  4. cdf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #4
    Are you talking about the Kingston HyperX Predator PCIe SSD? That drive is incompatible for booting CSM Windows in a cMP. Even the installation CD will refuse to boot. And while UEFI mode works, that mode is strongly discouraged because of boot ROM corruption, as you may know.

    The incompatibility is apparently an option ROM on the SSD that presents the controller as SATA. I've been toying with the idea of unloading the OPROM before booting into Windows...
     
  5. nofxrs, Jul 21, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2019

    nofxrs thread starter macrumors newbie

    nofxrs

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Location:
    Porto Alegre - Brazil
    #5

    • Yes, its the ahci ssd kingston predator.

      The thing is with the radeon 5770 im able to boot normally on the windows.

      Ive also noticed that if i plug back the sata hdds ( one still have the bootcamp) i was able to boot in windows with the rx 580...

      @tsialex already reconstructed my bootroom once... am i safe to try to install windows in uefi mode (disconecting all hds before) ?


      Thanks
     
  6. cdf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #6
    My understanding is that you are playing with fire with UEFI mode. Even if your boot ROM has been reconstructed, continuing to use UEFI mode can wreak havoc. If you are able to boot into Windows with the HyperX Predator inserted in your cMP, I suspect that your installations are UEFI. You can verify what kind of installations you have by running msinfo32 in Windows and looking under BIOS Mode.
     
  7. nofxrs thread starter macrumors newbie

    nofxrs

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Location:
    Porto Alegre - Brazil
    #7

    Just checked and its running uefi , as you mentioned.

    Gonna remove the hd, reupload the bootroom tsialex recretead for me.

    So there’s no solution for this sh**?


    What about if a create a partition on my sabrent 1tb nvme, would it work eith both os?
     
  8. cdf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #8
    The situation really sucks. CSM doesn't play nice with PCI drives at all and UEFI is potentially disastrous for the cMP. To make matters worst, the HyperX Predator will prevent any CSM Windows installations from booting, even the install media.

    I can only recommend installing to a SATA disk (on its own or partitioned). If you choose to partition a GPT disk, you will need to convert to a hybrid MBR first.

    You can always try with your NVMe drive, but because it's a PCI drive, Windows in CSM will probably refuse to install. Although some have had luck by imaging an installation over, I have doubts as to such installations actually being CSM...
     

Share This Page

7 July 20, 2019