Freshman art student looking at macs...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Bojingle, Jun 17, 2009.

1. Bojingle macrumors newbie

So, as the title suggests, I'm going to be a freshman in college and my major is art. Computer animation to be precise. From what I understand, a MacBook Pro would be my best choice. I've been looking at the 15-inch: 2.66GHz, but of course, not being exactly computer savvy doesn't help when looking over the specs. There's always a chance that I may change my major, but it would still be within the art field and I work with Photoshop and the like as it is.

Also, I came across a person that commented that "They're [macs] not good for graphic programs like Photoshop and they're generally not graphically oriented. They're also bad for PC games too, which I also use. Macs are more for people who use computers for business matters."

Now I'm pretty sure I've heard the exact opposite in nearly all cases. Is this person just full of it?

Anyway... Any recommendations, explanations as to why you recommend what you do or anything else is appreciated. c: Thanks!

EDIT: If I did consider an external monitor, what should I look for? Would I have to buy more cords? Are those pricey?

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

The person telling you this *****, may have been full of it, or s/he was sarcastic. But s/he was true about PC games, as they are normally written for Windows, so they won't run under Mac OS X. But there is always Boot Camp.
    Beware that an Apple laptop is not made primarily for gaming though.

The MBP with 2,66 GHz is a good choice as there is an integrated graphics card in there, which will will tremendously help with Photoshop in future releases, when the trend continues to integrated the GPU more into the computing experience besides games.

3. razyorv macrumors member