Freshman Engineer choosing between Macbook Pro/Air

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by andresa24, Feb 24, 2014.

1. andresa24, Feb 24, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2014

andresa24 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

(thanks to those who actually read all of this)

First off, I am currently a freshman at Texas A&M University studying chemical engineering, and have 100% decided I am going to purchase my first macbook ever. From this computer, I need it to have good performance, battery life that lasts through a full school day, and have decent portability.

I am already leaning towards the 4GB RAM 256GB storage Air as my purchase. My other option is the 13" Pro w/ retina 4GB RAM 128GB storage.

Before I ask my questions, here are some things you need to know:

1. I am familiar enough with the Mac OS, and own multiple iOS devices.
    2. This needs to last me minimum 2.5 - 3 years.
    3. I am already aware that some programs I want to run are windows-specific. I will be installing windows in the future. I have a decent windows laptop at home at my disposal that is on its last legs; but still peforms fine somehow.
    4. This machine will be my personal, primary machine for at least a year or two - I am saving for a full desktop workstation already. Note that when I use it, I don't tend to keep a bunch of programs open, have 10+ tabs open in chrome, etc. I am a power-user that likes to keep things tidy (if that makes any sense).
    5. The types of things I plan to do with the computer:
    - Heavy use: Web browsing, word docs, external apps (i.e. skype, spotify, dropbox, google drive, etc)
    - Medium use: Photoshop/lightroom, excel spreadsheets, coding (i.e. c++ using xcode), virtual machine(s) through the school
    - Light use (might not necessarily use these if ever): 3d-modeling software such as CAD , ocassional video editing (DSLR type), light games