From ADC to DVI to ADC...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by philgxxd, Oct 23, 2018.

  1. philgxxd, Oct 23, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2018

    philgxxd macrumors regular

    philgxxd

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
    #1
    @eyoungren or others

    Since I got that rare FORMAC branded ADC to DVI adapter I always wanted it to use for my dual acrylic Cinema Display setup on my G4 MDD.
    My idea is to connect both monitors through 2x Apple DVI to ADC adapters I have so that the power supply from the G4 doesn't have to deliver the power and doesn't get so stressed and hopefully prolong it's lifespan.
    But I can't get to output any image through that FORMAC adapter.
    I only got once an image when I hotplugged the monitor while the system was running but got some nasty distortions on the screen and after replugging it in it didn't come back and I wasn't too keen to keep trying hotplugging.
    The adapter itself seems to work as I can get an output when I connect a HDMI monitor to the FORMAC one with just another DVI to HDMI adapter.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #2
    I am confused.

    Your title seems to indicate you want to pass ADC from one display to DVI and then back to ADC?

    I am guessing you are trying to hook this Formac converter up to your G4 (which has an ADC card?) and then pass DVI from the converter to two A1006 bricks?

    Do I have this right? Or totally wrong?
     
  3. philgxxd thread starter macrumors regular

    philgxxd

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
  4. bobesch macrumors 65816

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #4
    I think the ADC-out>Adapter>Adapter>ADC-Monitor (right version) will be more distressing for your PowerMac, than the direct monitor-ADC-connection, which was meant as the primary way to connect the Acrylic Cinema Display...
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #5
    OK. I think I got it.

    What you want isn't going to happen (ADC with the DVI back to ADC). Perhaps someone else could explain because I don't have the words for it. It's got something to do with how the signal is routed though.

    You'll need to get a video card with dual DVI or just hook the display up directly. The power draw from the display isn't going to affect things.
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    The power for the display come from its own 24V "section" of the PSU. It's sized to power the 17" CRT...none of the acrylic LCDs draw anywhere near the amount of power the CRT needs.
     
  7. philgxxd thread starter macrumors regular

    philgxxd

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
    #7
    Well thank you all for the replies.
    I was maybe overthinking the issue so i will stick to how it is connected now and working properly minus the USB ports on the 22" Display which
    seems to finally stopped working.
    Do you have experience with that USB ports on the acrylic monitors ?
    Is there something i can try to revive them ?
    When i connect a mouse to them it's getting power but that's all, no moving cursor.
     
  8. RhianB macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #8
    Check for bent or damaged pins perhaps? Wiki states pin 21-23 are for usb.
     
  9. bobesch macrumors 65816

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #9
    Did you swap monitors at the ADC-out of your PM to check, if the problem is related to the monitor or the PM?
     
  10. philgxxd thread starter macrumors regular

    philgxxd

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
    #10
    I will look for it. Thanks.

    It's the monitor as the other one have the USB working fine when I connect it to the ADC port directly. I have there two dongles installed and never got problems to be recognized.
     

Share This Page

9 October 23, 2018