From Alienware to Macbook pro retina 15

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marco.dell, Mar 14, 2015.

1. marco.dell macrumors newbie

Hi all,

this is my first message here (even if i constantly read it).
    As the title say, i just wish to switch from alienware 17 (time to play is always less) to the rmbp 15.
    I'm an analyst/developer so i'll use it for both work and a little bit of gaming (only games i will play are once in a while are: LOL, elder scrolls online, dragon age inquisition and maybe Camelot Unchained when it will be released...).
    I know after the summer Skylake could be released and rmbp 15 could be refreshed, but i just don't like to wait for something...Is Skylake that big improvement over Haswell? Consider i don't care for things like wireless charge, the force touch and so on. I just care for the overall machine power and life.
    Do u think i really should wait or i can just get the rmbp 15 now and be happy working with it?

Thanks

2. zsrhusain macrumors newbie

My advice would be if you need it now then buy it.

If you can wait a few months until the processors are released and then wait for Apple to update the hardware then do so.

I bought my rMBP in Feb of 2013 (Early 2013 model), then the mid and late versions were released. The speed may be just a little bit faster and the battery life may be a little better but still my computer is still good enough for what I do (I am in IT and run a lot of virtual machines).

The only thing that I missed from the updates is the 1 TB SSD. I got Wireless AC by replacing the card by myself.

I don't regret my purchase. However just keep in mind that tech is always evolving and that an updated model will always come out!

3. marco.dell thread starter macrumors newbie

That's the point...an update is always around the corner!