From camera to ProRes 422 using a MXO2 and MBP?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Chris7, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Chris7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Lost in Thought
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm using an HD consumer camera, and trying to find a cheap way to record to a decent codec on the fly.

    Wondering if anyone here has experience using the output of a camcorder to an I/O box (like the $500 Matrox MXO2) to a Mac Book Pro for transcoding to 1920x1080 ProRes 422 SQ. (I would connect to an external HD on site store the ProRes footage.)

    I have heard of this being done with a 2.8 GHz MBP but my MBP is early 2008, 2.2 GHz.

    (I am using FCS 2, BTW.)

    Many thanks,
    Chris
     
  2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #2
    IIRC the MXO2 requires a 2.4ghz MBP or higher for on the fly ProRes encoding. You would need the AJA ioHD since it has a dedicated ProRes chip and does the encoding instead of your laptop.
     
  3. Chris7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Lost in Thought
    #3
    Thanks for the info, Bigboss. It appears the the AJA ioHD is an extra $3000 more than the $500 MXO2 Mini (I meant to say "Mini" above). Darn.:mad:

    Anyone know what would happen if I tried the MXO2 Mini rought with a 2.2GHz machine, a mere 0.2GHz short? Would the system become unstable, or just not allow the conversion in the first place? (I actually do not know which application should be used for the conversion).

    Thanks again,
    Chris
     
  4. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #4
    it would be done within FCP and you would most likely drop frames.
     
  5. Chris7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Lost in Thought
    #5
    I appreciate the info.
     
  6. nyzwerewolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #6
    I have a Canon HF11, Late 2007 MBP with 2.4Ghz & 4GB Ram, Matrox MXO2 Mini. I use FCP to capture the 1920X1080 footage to an external FireWire 800 drive.

    Can you list ur mbp's specs? I am guessing ur cpu fsb is either 800 or 1066.

    mine is late 2007:
    2.4ghz core 2 duo @ 800mhz fsb
    4GB 667mhz ddr2
    256mb nvidia 8600m gt

    like bigboss said, you might experience dropped frames error. but if you do 720p, you will be fine.
     
  7. Chris7 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Lost in Thought
    #7
    Thanks for the reply.

    2.2 GHz Core 2 Duo
    800 GHz bus speed
    4 MB L2 Cache
    2 GB RAM (to upgrade to 4 GB)

    Are you consistently getting good results with your set up capturing ProRes?

    -Chris
     

Share This Page