From Final Cut Pro to Apple TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Flyyvon, May 20, 2007.

  1. Flyyvon macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #1
    Hi every one and thank's for helping this newbie. First, let me start by telling you that i'm faily new with Final Cut Pro and i just recently bought my Apple TV. What i'm trying to do is simple (so i tought) I want to convert/export my Final Cut pro movies to my Apple TV. I tried with Compressor and with Quick Time (not pro) with no success. I can watch the movies in iTunes but my Apple TV won't see them. What am i doing wrong? I tried different setting and nothing works. Maybe i should also tell you that i'm filming in HDV with my Sony HC1. Thank's in advance for all your help.
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    What format are your movies in? If you can watch them in iTunes I would expect you to see them on your AppleTV as well.

    What folder are they stored in, and are you syncing that folder with iTunes/AppleTV?
     
  3. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
  4. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    Once my movie is finish, i'm trying to export my sequence by using, export, quick time movies. I then drag that Quick Time movie to iTunes. Should i use anuther method?

    Thank's again. Yvon.
     
  5. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #5
    I guess that where i need help. It's in my settings.

    Yvon.
     
  6. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    if you have Final Cut pro you should have Quicktime pro.... export your sequence then right click and open it in quicktime.... export that as ipod....then drag it to itunes and see if it work using :apple: tv

    edit can you view anything on your :apple: tv
     
  7. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #7
    I tought that, export that as ipod would lower the resolution to much? 320x240 compared to 640x480 or 720×480.

    Yvon.
     
  8. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    i suggested the ipod setting cause the videos off of ITMS are that resolution....you can try the 640
    after that i'm out of ideas. I don't use an :apple: tv yet ;)
     
  9. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #9
    How good will it look on a 42 inch 720p Samsung Plasma? Did you try it?

    Yvon.
     
  10. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #10
    Sorry. Just notice you wrote you didn't use an apple tv. Thank's for your help punkhead193.

    Yvon.
     
  11. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
  12. shaboomi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #12
    Use quicktime

    You should be able to export from quicktime choosing the "apple TV" export option then send it to itunes and sync with your apple TV
     
  13. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #13
    When i try this, using export using Quick Time conversion, and choosing Apple TV, i loose my 16-9. Stange.......What am i doing wrong?

    Yvon.
     
  14. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #14
    Would anybody know the step by step for converting Final Cut Pro files to Apple TV format?

    Thank's, Yvon.
     
  15. Flyyvon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
  16. jlanuez macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    I would love to hear the annswer to this. Could you call Apple Support for Final Cut Pro?
     

Share This Page